Related Artists

Seals & Crofts

Atlanta Rhythm Section

The Hollies

England Dan & John Ford Coley




Barry Manilow

Gerry Rafferty

Pat Benatar

Little River Band Biography

Home > Music > L > Little River Band > Biography

Birth Place: Melbourne, Australia
Years Active: 1975 - present
Genres: Rock, Pop Rock

Little River Band is an Australian rock band, formed in Melbourne in early 1975. The group chose the name after passing a road sign leading to the Victorian township of Little River, near Geelong, on the way to a performance. Little River Band enjoyed sustained commercial success in not only Australia, but also in the United States. During its career which saw several lineup changes, the band sold more than 25 million records and achieved 13 U.S. Top 40 hits.

The band's original members were lead vocalist Glenn Shorrock, acoustic guitarist and vocalist Graham Goble, rhythm guitarist and vocalist Beeb Birtles, lead guitarist Ric Formosa, bassist Roger McLachlan and drummer Derek Pellicci.

From 1978 until 1981, Little River Band achieved one gold (“Diamantina Cocktail,” released in 1977) and two platinum (“Sleeper Catcher” in 1978 and “First Under the Wire” in 1979) plus six consecutive U.S. Top 10 singles with “Reminiscing” “Lady,” “Lonesome Loser,” “Cool Change,” “The Night Owls” and “Take It Easy on Me.”

In May 2001 the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA), as part of its 75th Anniversary celebrations, named “Cool Change,” written by Shorrock, as one of the Top 30 Australian songs of all time. The classic line-up of Birtles, Goble, Pellicci, Shorrock, guitarist David Briggs and bass guitarist George McArdle, were inducted into the Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) Hall of Fame at the 18th Annual ARIA Music Awards of 2004. “Reminiscing,” written by Goble, was recognized by BMI as one of the most frequently played songs in the history of American radio, with more than four million plays to its credit. “Lady”has also accumulated more than three million plays.