Related Artists

Lil Jon & The East Side Boyz

Dem Franchize Boyz

Crime Mob

Lil' Flip

Yung Joc

Boyz N Da Hood

David Banner


Three 6 Mafia

Mike Jones

Lil Scrappy Biography

Home > Music > L > Lil Scrappy > Biography

Birth Name: Darryl Richardson
Born: 1984/01/19
Birth Place: Atlanta, Georgia
Years Active: 2003–present
Genres: Hip Hop, Crunk

Lil Scrappy (born Darryl Kevin Richardson II, January 19, 1984) is an American rapper. He was discovered by producer and performer Lil Jon while performing at a bar in his hometown of Atlanta, Georgia. Along with Trillville, Lil Scrappy was one of the first signings to Lil Jon's BME Recordings.

Lil Scrappy and Trillville issued a split album, titled “The King of Crunk & BME Recordings Present: Trillville & Lil Scrappy,” in 2004 on BME. It featured the singles, “Neva Eva” and “Some Cut” by Trillville and “Head Bussa” and “No Problem” by Lil' Scrappy. “No Problem” reached #29 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart.

Lil Scrappy released his debut album, “Bred 2 Die Born 2 Live,” in 2006 on BME Recordings/Reprise Records/G-Unit Records and G-Unit South. The album featured appearances by Yung Joc, Three 6 Mafia, Lil Jon, Young Buck, 50 Cent, Olivia, Young Dro and Bohagon. It was produced by Lil Jon and 50 Cent. The first single, “Money in the Bank,” featured Young Buck and became Lil Scrappy's second Top 30 single on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

Lil Scrappy's first independent album, “Prince of the South,” was released in 2008 through Real Talk Entertainment. The album featured guest appearances by rappers Lil' Flip and J-Bo of YoungBloodZ. It reached #22 on the Billboard R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart and #1 on the Independent Albums chart.

Lil Scrappy's second independent album, “Prince of the South 2,” was released in 2010 through Real Talk Entertainment. “Aye Shawty” and “When I Grind” featuring Lil' Flip, were issued as singles.

His next album, “Tha Grustle,” was slated for release in 2011 but was pushed backed to 2012 and distributed by Fontana/Universal. The official first single from the album was “Helicopter” featuring 2 Chainz and Twista.