Related Artists

Lightspeed Champion Biography

Home > Music > L > Lightspeed Champion > Biography

Birth Name: Devonté Hynes
Born: 1985/12/23
Birth Place: United Kingdom
Years Active: 2005–present
Genres: Indie Pop, Folk, Baroque Pop, Funk, Soul

Lightspeed Champion (born Devonté "Dev" Hynes, December 23, 1985) is a British singer, composer, songwriter, producer and author also known as Blood Orange. Lightspeed Champion was born and raised in Ilford, Essex . He has resided in New York City since 2007.

From their formation in 2004 until their break-up in 2006, Hynes was a member of the band Test Icicles, playing guitar, synth, and occasionally performing vocals. They released only one full-length album, “For Screening Purposes Only,” in 2005.

In early 2007, Lightspeed Champion recorded his debut album as Lightspeed Champion in Omaha, Nebraska with Saddle Creek producer Mike Mogis, most known for his involvement with the band Bright Eyes. A number of Omaha-based musicians appear on the record, including Mogis himself, trumpet player and pianist Nate Walcott (also of Bright Eyes), The Faint's drummer Clark Baechle and guest vocalist Emmy The Great - along with moonlighting members of Cursive and Tilly And The Wall. These recording sessions resulted in the single “Galaxy of the Lost,” released in July 2007, and the album “Falling off the Lavender Bridge,” released in January 2008.

His second album as Lightspeed Champion, “Life Is Sweet! Nice to Meet You,” was released in February 2010. The record was recorded with producer Ben Allen -- known for his recent work with Gnarls Barkley, Animal Collective, and The Constellations.

With Lightspeed Champion on effective hiatus, he decided to concentrate on a new musical project more focused on electronica called Blood Orange. Various Blood Orange live performances took place in New York City and London between November and December 2009, consisting of Hynes, a guitar, and a laptop. His debut single under the moniker Blood Orange, “Dinner,” was released in January 2011 on Terrible records. Following this, his full-length record “Coastal Grooves” was released in August 2011 on Domino Records. Two tracks from the album, “Sutphin Boulevard” and “Forget It,” were released as singles.

The second Blood Orange LP, “Cupid Deluxe,” was issued by Domino in November 2013. “Cupid Deluxe” showed a more expansive aural palate than the previous Blood Orange album, “Coastal Grooves,” while still retaining the pop sensibilities that Hynes has showcased since his days in Test Icicles and Lightspeed Champion. The album featured many guest appearances, including performances from David Longstreth (Dirty Projectors), Caroline Polachek (Chairlift), Samantha Urbani (Friends), Clams Casino, Despot, Adam Bainbridge (Kindness), Skepta and more.