Related Artists


Bad Religion






Less Than Jake

The Lawrence Arms

The Suicide Machines

Lagwagon Biography

Home > Music > L > Lagwagon > Biography

Birth Place: Goleta, California, United States
Years Active: 1990-present
Genres: Punk Rock, Skate Punk

Lagwagon is a punk rock band that hail from Goleta, California that came together in 1990 with Joey Cape on vocals, Chris Flippin and Shawn Dewey on guitar, Jesse Buglione on bass and Derrick Plourde on drums.

The band's debut album, “Duh” arrived in 1992 shortly after signing to Fat Wreck Chords. The band's second album, “Trashed,” was issued in 1994 and enjoyed more mainstream success than its predecessor.

Following the band's third release, “Hoss,” they embarked on a tour of Europe, Australia and Japan. As the tour came to an end guitarist Dewey and drummer Plourde left the band to be replaced temporarily by Ken Stringfellow of The Posies on guitar and Dave Raun on drums.

Two more successful albums followed, 1997’s “Double Plaidinum” and 1998’s “Let's Talk About Feelings,” before the band went on an indefinite hiatus in 2000.

Lagwagon resurfaced in 2002 and began work on their sixth studio album “Blaze,” which was released in 2003. In 2005, Lagwagon's original drummer, Derrick Plourde died and the band dedicated their next album, “Resolve” to the life of Plourde.

2010 marked the departure of one of the band's founding members, Jesse Buglione, and the addition of bassist Joe Raposo. 2011 saw the band touring once again and playing shows all over the U.S, followed by a European tour in 2012.