Related Artists


Katy Perry

Britney Spears

Glee Cast





The Black Eyed Peas

Jennifer Lopez

Lady Gaga Albums

Home > Music > L > Lady Gaga > Albums

''The Fame Monster'' is the second studio album by American recording artist Lady Gaga, released on November 18, 2009. The album's eight songs were initially intended to be part of a re-release of Gaga's debut album ''The Fame''. However, Gaga announced that the new songs would be available as a standalone album, as she thought the re-release was too expensive and that, as the piece represents a separate conceptual and musical body of work, it does not need the songs of ''The Fame'' to support it. A Super Deluxe ''Fame Monster'' pack containing the two releases was released on December 15, 2009.

The album deals with the darker side of fame, as experienced by Gaga over the course of 2008–09, while travelling around the world. They are expressed through a monster metaphor. Gaga compared the feel of her debut album and ''The Fame Monster'' with the Yin and yang concept. Cover artwork was done by Hedi Slimane and has a gothic look which Gaga had to convince her record company to allow her to shoot. The composition takes its inspiration from Gothic music and fashion shows. Contemporary critics gave a positive review of the album, with the majority of them complimenting the songs "Bad Romance", and "Dance in the Dark".

In some countries the album charted together with ''The Fame''. In other countries – such as the United States, Canada and Japan – it charted as a separate album. It has reached the top of the charts in Australia, Germany, Ireland, New Zealand, Poland and the United Kingdom, while reaching the top ten in other major markets. "Bad Romance" was released as the album's first single, topping the Canadian, United Kingdom and Irish charts, while reaching number two in Australia, United States and Sweden. Further singles released were "Telephone" and "Alejandro", both reached the top-ten in the United States and the United Kingdom. Gaga announced The Monster Ball Tour supporting the album, which started on November 27, 2009 and will continue through April 2011.

The Fame Monster
Label: Streamline/Interscope
Release Date: 2009-11-23
Duration: 34:14

Buy AlbumPrice: $9.99

Prev Album
Next Album
Song Title Time Play Price Download
1Bad Romance 04:55
$1.29 Buy Song
2Alejandro 04:37
$1.29 Buy Song
3Monster 04:09
$1.29 Buy Song
4Speechless 04:30
$1.29 Buy Song
5Dance In The Dark 04:48
$1.29 Buy Song
6Telephone 03:40
$1.29 Buy Song
7So Happy I Could Die 03:55
$1.29 Buy Song
8Teeth 03:40
$1.29 Buy Song
Album - The Fame Monster $9.99 Buy Album