Related Artists



Amon Amarth



Dark Tranquillity


Kylesa Biography

Home > Music > K > Kylesa > Biography

Birth Place: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Years Active: 2001-present
Genres: Sludge Metal, Avant-Garde Metal

Kylesa is an American sludge metal band that was formed in Savannah, Georgia. Their music incorporates experimentalism with sludgy riffs, drop-tuned guitars and elements of psychedelic rock. The group was established in 2001 by the former members of Damad guitarist and singer Phillip Cope, bassist Brian Duke and drummer Christian Depken, with the addition of guitar player Laura Pleasants. The band has since undergone lineup changes with the remaining original members being Cope and Pleasants. In 2006, the band added two drummers Carl McGinley of Unpersons and Jeff Porter. Eric Hernandez of Capsule joined in 2008 to replace Porter.

After recording the majority of their self-titled first record in May 2001, Kylesa played their first show with Mastodon and Cream Abdul Babar in June 2001. On June 6, 2001, Brian Duke died from an epileptic seizure. The band decided to finish the recording in Brian's honor, wrote and recorded two more songs with local bass player and friend Michael Redmond who stepped in and played bass. The self-titled record was released about one year later on Prank Records.

Replacing Duke with bassist and singer Corey Barhorst, the band wrote and recorded a split 7" with Memento Mori, on Hyperrealist, and a split full-length with Cream Abdul Babar on At A Loss Recordings.. More singles and a placeholder EP, 2004's “No Ending 110 Degree Heat Index,” followed right before Depken left the group.

Kylesa signed with the independent metal label Prosthetic Records and released their second proper album, “To Walk a Middle Course,” in 2005 with new drummer Brandon Baltzley. Following the release of that album, Baltzley left the group, and was replaced by a pair of drummers, Jeff Porter and Carl McGinley. Kylesa's third album, “Time Will Fuse Its Worth,” was released on Halloween 2006. Eric Hernandez replaced Porter and appeared on their next LP, “Static Tensions,” released in 2009.

In 2010 they signed to the Season of Mist records label to release the album “Spiral Shadow,” in October of that year. A rarities compilation album, titled “From the Vaults, Vol. 1,” was also released later that year. Their next album, “Ultraviolet,” was released through Season of Mist in May 2013.