Related Artists

Wolf Parade

The Unicorns

Los Campesinos!


Okkervil River

Built To Spill

Blitzen Trapper

Architecture In Helsinki

Damien Jurado

Broken Social Scene

Islands Biography

Home > Music > I > Islands > Biography

Birth Place: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Years Active: 2005-present
Genres: Indie Rock, Indie Pop, Art Rock

Islands is a Canadian indie rock band formed in 2005 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada, and currently based in Brooklyn, New York.

In mid-2005 Islands recorded a debut album titled “Return to the Sea,” which was released in April 2006. The album was recorded in Montreal, Canada, at Breakglass Studio and in Jamie Thompson's bedroom, and was produced by audio engineer/record producer Mark Lawson. “Return to the Sea” was re-mastered in England for the European version of the album, and was released there by Rough Trade Records in April 2006. In North America, the album was released on the upstart label Equator Records that same month. The cover of the album is one of Caspar David Friedrich's famous paintings, “The Wreck of the Hope.” The album featured numerous guest appearances, including members of Arcade Fire and Wolf Parade.

In May 2006, it was announced that Thompson would be leaving the band. In February 2008, it was announced that Islands had signed to Los Angeles based ANTI- records. Their first album on the label, and second overall, “Arm’s Way” was released in May 2008. The album featured a song entitled “Abominable Snow” previously performed live by Nick Thorburn's former band The Unicorns.

As of June 2009, it was confirmed that Jamie Thompson had returned to Islands. Thompson's return was part of a huge band lineup overhaul in which every member save for Thorburn left the band. Thompson joined Evan Gordon and Geordie Gordon as the members of Islands' new lineup alongside Thorburn. The third Islands album, “Vapours,” was released in September 2009. Thompson once again left the band prior to the summer 2010 tour.