Related Artists




Panic! At The Disco





Our Lady Peace

A Perfect Circle

Incubus Biography

Home > Music > I > Incubus > Biography

Birth Place: Calabasas, California, United States
Years Active: 1991-present
Genres: Alternative Rock

Incubus is an American rock band, from Calabasas, California. The group was formed in 1991 by vocalist Brandon Boyd, lead guitarist Mike Einziger and drummer Jose Pasillas while enrolled in high school and later expanded to include bassist Alex “Dirk Lance” Katunich, and Gavin “DJ Lyfe” Koppell, both of whom were eventually replaced by bassist Ben Kenney, and DJ Kilmore respectively.

“Fungus Amongus,” their debut album, was self-produced and released in 1995 on Stopuglynailfungus Music On Chillum, Incubus' own independent label. The band's first major-label release was 1997's six-track EP titled “Enjoy Incubus” on Epic Records.

“S.C.I.E.N.C.E.,” Incubus' second studio album, was released in 1997. After constant touring throughout 1998, and after selling over 100,000 copies of “S.C.I.E.N.C.E.” without the support of radio or television exposure, Incubus took a break for two years and then released their critically acclaimed third album “Make Yourself.”

“Make Yourself” was released in 1999. The album has been certified double platinum in the United States along with featuring three charting singles, “Pardon Me,” “Stellar” and “Drive,” all of which reached the Top 3 of the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart. “Drive” was the band's biggest hit and breakthrough single, eventually reaching the top of the Modern Rock chart and #9 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart.

The band took a break during the first part of 2001 before heading to a beachside mansion in Malibu, California, to record their follow-up album, “Morning View.” Incubus released their first single, “Wish You Were Here,” which peaked at #2 on the Modern Rock chart. The album, “Morning View” debuted on the Billboard 200 Albums chart at #2 their highest peak to date. “Morning View” was later certified platinum.

“A Crow Left of the Murder...” was released in 2004 and debuted at #2 on the Billboard 200. It has since been certified platinum by the RIAA. The first single, “Megalomaniac” peaked at #1 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock Tracks chart and the second single, “Talk Shows on Mute” reached #3 on the Modern Rock Tracks chart.

“Light Grenades,” was released in 2006 on Epic Records, debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200, becoming the band's first #1 album. The album has since gone gold in the U.S. The first single, “Anna Molly” peaked at #1 on the Modern Rock chart, at #4 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks Chart and at #66 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Their seventh studio album, “If Not Now, When?,” was released in 2011 and debuted at #2 on the Billboard 200. Preceded by the singles, “Adolescents” and “Promises, Promises,” the album marks the band's longest gap between studio albums and was produced by frequent collaborator Brendan O'Brien.