Related Artists




Three Days Grace


Sick Puppies

Foo Fighters

Story Of The Year


Puddle Of Mudd

Hoobastank Biography

Home > Music > H > Hoobastank > Biography

Birth Place: Agoura Hills, California
Years Active: 1994–present
Genres: Alternative Rock, Post-grunge

Hoobastank is an American rock band that was formed in 1994 in Agoura Hills, California, by singer Doug Robb, guitarist Dan Estrin, drummer Chris Hesse, and original bassist Markku Lappalainen. Robb had known Estrin for some time before competing against him in a high school battle of the bands competition and subsequently, they decided to form a band. They then recruited Markku Lappalainen and Hesse to form Hoobastank.

They recorded their first full-length self-released album in 1998, called “They Sure Don't Make Basketball Shorts Like They Used To.” It featured an unusual saxophone section headed by Jeremy Wasser, who executive produced the album and recorded the, “Summer Romance,” saxophone solo on Incubus' “S.C.I.E.N.C.E.” album.

By this time, Hoobastank had developed a strong reputation in Southern California. This attracted interest from Island Records, which subsequently signed the band in 2000. At the time of signing, the band had completed a second full length album, titled “Forward,” again featuring Jeremy Wasser. Executives at Island felt that the direction they were heading in would work best without a sax, so Wasser departed the band and the album was shelved. A few tracks were rerecorded for release on the band's self-titled 2001 release.

Hoobastank released their self-titled album in November 2001. The first single was, “Crawling in the Dark,” which was a breakthrough hit, reaching #68 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart, #3 on the Modern Rock chart and #7 on the Mainstream Rock chart. The second single "Running Away" was even more successful reaching #44 on the Billboard Hot 100, #2 on the Modern Rock chart and #9 on the Mainstream Rock chart. The “Hoobastank” album went platinum thanks to the hit singles and reached #25 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and #1 on the Billboard Heatseekers Albums chart.

Their fourth album, “The Reason,” was released in December 2003. It showcased a harder-edged vocal performance from Robb. The single, “Same Direction,” reached #9 on the Modern Rock chart and #16 on the Mainstream Rock chart. The title track was released as a single in the first half of 2004. It became a hit reaching #2 on the Billboard Hot 100 and #1 on the Modern Rock chart. The album reached #3 on the Billboard 200.

“Every Man for Himself,” their fifth album, was released in May 2006 and debuted at #12 on the Billboard 200. Three singles, “If I Were You,” “Inside of You” and “Born to Lead,” were released, all of which fared poorly on the Billboard charts.

Their next album, “For(N)ever,” was released in January 2009 and peaked at #26 on the Billboard 200. “Fight or Flight,” followed in September 2012. Produced by Gavin Brown, the album featured 11 new studio tracks including the first single, “This Is Gonna Hurt.”