Listen to Helium
and similar artists
Play Now

Home > Music > H > Helium


Envy - Ep

Winnetka (2-Track Single)

The Magic City

The Dirt Of Luck

Pirate Prude
All Albums >>

Genres: Alternative/Indie

Helium were an American indie rock group formed (as Chupa) in the summer of 1992 by Mary Lou Lord, Jason Hatfield (Juliana's brother), Shawn King Devlin (drums) and Brian Dunton (electric bass guitar). Devlin and Dunton were both also in the band Dumptruck at the time. Mary Timony (electric guitar and vocals, formerly of the band Autoclave) was recruited after Mary Lou was reluctant to go electric. After Hatfield left the band, they changed the name to Helium. Timony became known for her Lolita-esque image (e.g. short schoolgirl skirts and hairstyle) and naughty lyrics, much like Helium's then-labelmate Liz Phair. She was also known for her fairly husky, vibrato-less, monotone singing style... Continue Bio >>

Music Videos:

Browse More Music:
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z