Related Artists

The Offspring



Gin Blossoms

Stone Temple Pilots



Sugar Ray

Collective Soul

No Doubt

Green Day Albums

Home > Music > G > Green Day > Albums

''21st Century Breakdown'' is the eighth studio album by American punk rock band Green Day. It is the band's second rock opera, following ''American Idiot'', and its first record to be produced by Butch Vig. The band commenced work on the record in January 2006. 45 songs were written by vocalist and guitarist Billie Joe Armstrong by October 2007, but the band members did not enter studio work with Vig until January 2008. The writing and recording process spanned three years and four California recording studios and was finished in April 2009.

''21st Century Breakdown'' was released through Reprise Records on May 15, 2009. Armstrong has described the album as a "snapshot of the era in which we live as we question and try to make sense of the selfish manipulation going on around us, whether it be the government, religion, media or frankly any form of authority". The singles, "Know Your Enemy" and "21 Guns" exemplify the themes of alienation and politically-motivated anger present in the record.

Critical response to ''21st Century Breakdown'' was generally positive. Critics praising the album considered the composition and Armstrong's lyrics a success; skeptical reviewers were critical of the album's concept, describing it as vague and directionless. The record achieved Green Day's best chart performance to date by reaching number one on the album charts of various countries, including the United States ''Billboard'' 200, the European Top 100 Albums, and the United Kingdom Albums Chart. It was awarded the Grammy Award for Best Rock Album at the 52nd Grammy Awards held on January 31, 2010. As of June, 2010 ''21st Century Breakdown'' has sold 974,000 copies in the United States. In 2009, the album sold 2,705,000 copies around the world.

21st Century Breakdown
Label: Reprise
Release Date: 2010-04-23
Duration: 69:26

Prev Album
Next Album
Song Title       Time
1Song Of The Century    00:58
221st Century Breakdown    05:10
3Know Your Enemy    03:12
4┬íViva La Gloria!    03:31
5Before The Lobotomy    04:38
6Christian's Inferno    03:08
7Last Night On Earth    03:57
8East Jesus Nowhere    04:35
9Peacemaker    03:25
10Last Of The American Girls    03:52
11Murder City    02:55
12┬┐Viva La Gloria? (Little Girl)    03:48
13Restless Heart Syndrome    04:20
14Horseshoes And Handgrenades    03:15
15The Static Age    04:17
1621 Guns    05:22
17American Eulogy: Mass Hysteria/Modern World    04:27
18See The Light    04:36