Related Artists

Goodie Mob

Patti LaBelle

Angie Stone

Erykah Badu

Melanie Fiona


Tony! Toni! Toné!


Faith Evans

Luther Vandross

Cee Lo Green Biography

Home > Music > G > Green, Cee Lo > Biography

Birth Name: Thomas DeCarlo Callaway
Born: 1975/05/30
Birth Place: Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A
Years Active: 1992–present
Genres: Hip Hop, Funk, R&B, Neo Soul

Thomas DeCarlo Callaway (born May 30, 1974), better known by his stage name Cee Lo Green or simply Cee Lo, is an American hip hop, funk, neo soul, and R&B musician. He is a singer, rapper, songwriter, and record producer, best known as a member of Goodie Mob and more recently Gnarls Barkley, and has also recorded three solo albums.

Among Cee Lo's hits are the singles "Closet Freak" (2002); "I'll Be Around" (2003), produced by Timbaland; "Crazy" (2006), by Gnarls Barkley; and "Fuck You!" (2010) (Also known as "Forget You!"), co-written and produced by The Smeezingtons.

Cee Lo's Arista career was short-lived, as he was dropped after only two albums due to low record sales. His first album, “Cee-Lo Green and His Perfect Imperfections,” was heavily in the vein of various other Dungeon Family releases, with southern soul/funk/jazz backings produced solely by himself and boasting appearances by fellow Dungeon Fam members Big Gipp and Backbone.

The album explored his departure from Goodie Mob and his solo growth in the song "El Dorado Sunrise (Super Chicken)", as well as socio-political issues, and showcased his singing. The album did not sell very well, but Cee Lo achieved some airplay with the single "Closet Freak".

His second Arista album, “Cee-Lo Green... Is the Soul Machine” brought a more branched-out sound and more deeply explored southern rap music. This is evidenced by collaborations with Ludacris, T.I., and Pharrell and production from Timbaland, The Neptunes, and Jazze Pha among others. The only other Dungeon Family member that appeared on his second release was Big Rube.

This album saw Cee Lo delve into other styles besides traditional rap. Timbaland proved to be Cee Lo's single producer as their song "I'll Be Around" received mild airplay. They performed the single on an episode in the second season of “Chappelle's Show.” "The One" featuring Jazze Pha and T.I. was also released as a single.

On the heels of the success of Gnarls Barkley, Arista released a 17-track "Greatest Hits" collection of Cee Lo songs, “Closet Freak: The Best of Cee-Lo Green the Soul Machine.” It features predominantly Cee Lo solo tracks and several Goodie Mob songs.

His new song "What Part of Forever" has been included in “The Twilight Saga: Eclipse Original Motion Picture Soundtrack.”

On August 19, 2010, Cee Lo released a single, "Fuck You!," to YouTube ahead of his planned solo album release, due to its partial leak on April 13, 2010. "Fuck You!" was an instant viral smash hit, registering over two million plays in less than a week. Fuck You! made a debut at #1 on the UK charts and charted at number 17 on the Billboard Hot 100. The album “Lady Killer” was released by Elektra Records on November 9, 2010. The album debuted at #9 on the US Billboard 200 chart, selling 41,000 copies in its first-week. It also entered at #2 on Billboard's R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart.