The Gossip Biography

Home > Music > G > Gossip, The > Biography

Birth Place: Olympia, Washington, U.S.
Years Active: 1999–present
Genres: Indie Rock, Dance-Rock, Blues Punk

Gossip (formerly The Gossip) is a three-piece American indie rock band formed in 1999 in Olympia, Washington. The three original members, vocalist Beth Ditto, guitarist Nathan “Brace Paine” Howdeshell and drummer Kathy Mendonca were originally from Searcy, Arkansas. Mendonca moved to Olympia to attend Evergreen State College and Howdeshell and Ditto followed.

In 1999 the independent record label K Records released Gossip's first recording, their eponymous debut EP, “The Gossip” to coincide with the band's tour with Sleater-Kinney. Their next release was their first album “That's Not What I Heard” which was released by the record label Kill Rock Stars in January 2001. In between that release and their second album, they released the EP “Arkansas Heat” in May 2002.

“Movement,” the group's second studio album, followed one year later and was released in May 2003. In November 2003, two months after the release of their first live album, “Undead in NYC,” original drummer Kathy Mendonca left the band to pursue a career as a midwife. Established punk drummer Hannah Blilie joined to replace her. The band then dropped the "The" from their name and continued simply as Gossip.

The first release featuring Blilie on drums was the band's third album, “Standing in the Way of Control.” It was released in January 2006 on Kill Rock Stars and later on in 2006 on the independent U.K. label Back Yard Recordings. “Standing in the Way of Control” has since earned gold status in the U.K.

Their next album, “Music For Men,” was released in June 2009 via Columbia Records and featured the singles, “Heavy Cross” and “Pop Goes the World.” Their fifth studio album, “A Joyful Noise,” was issued by Columbia Records in May 2012. The album was produced by Xenomania founder Brian Higgins.