Related Artists


Coheed And Cambria


Every Time I Die



My Chemical Romance



Bring Me The Horizon

Glassjaw Biography

Home > Music > G > Glassjaw > Biography

Birth Place: Long Island, New York, United States
Years Active: 1993–present
Genres: Post-hardcore, Alternative Rock, Experimental Rock, Progressive Rock

Glassjaw (sometimes stylized glassJAw or GlassJAw) is a four-piece rock band from Long Island, New York. The band is fronted by vocalist Daryl Palumbo and guitarist Justin Beck, and has undergone numerous line-up changes since their inception. The band has been influential in the progression of the underground music scene in the eastern United States and United Kingdom and on the post-hardcore genre, and are known for their intense live shows and constant line-up changes.

Their debut album “Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Silence,” produced by Ross Robinson, was released on Roadrunner Records in 2000.

In 2001, the band entered the studio in secret with Ross Robinson and began recording their follow-up album “Worship and Tribute,” which would see release the following year. They left Roadrunner, finding them problematic, and shopped the album to other labels and ended up signing a deal with Warner Bros. Records. “Worship and Tribute” peaked at #82 on the Billboard 200 on July 27, 2002, remaining on the chart for three weeks. "Cosmopolitan Bloodloss" and "Ape Dos Mil" were released as singles. It was nominated for a Best Album Art Grammy in 2003.

In October, 2005 the band released a B-side EP of songs not used on “Worship and Tribute,” entitled “El Mark.”

“Our Color Green (The Singles)” an EP that complies five singles that were previously released throughout the later part of 2010 was self-released on January 1, 2011. This new batch of songs was recorded by Glassjaw themselves and producer Jonathan Florencio. The single for "All Good Junkies Go to Heaven" was released on August 8, 2010, "Jesus Glue" was released on September 9, 2010, "Natural Born Farmer" was released on October 10, "Stars" was released on November 11, and "You Think You're (John Fucking Lennon)" was released on December 12.