Related Artists

Stevie Nicks


Bachman-Turner Overdrive

Linda Ronstadt


Steve Winwood


Grand Funk Railroad

The J. Geils Band

Paul Simon

Fleetwood Mac Albums

Home > Music > F > Fleetwood Mac > Albums

''The Pious Bird of Good Omen'' is a compilation album by Fleetwood Mac, released in 1969. It consisted of the first four UK singles and their B-sides, two tracks from the second album ''Mr. Wonderful'', and two tracks by blues artist Eddie Boyd with backing by members of Fleetwood Mac. These two tracks came from Boyd's album ''7936 South Rhodes''.

The title of the album is a phrase found in the 1817 Gloss (marginal notes) to Samuel Taylor Coleridge's 1798 epic poem The Rime of the Ancient Mariner. The phrase refers to the albatross killed in the poem. ("The ancient Mariner inhospitably killeth the pious bird of good omen.") Its use as an album title is a sly wink to the featuring of the band's number 1 UK hit "Albatross."

The US-only compilation ''English Rose'' was a similar package, sharing five songs with this album, and was released earlier in 1969.

In 2002, the tracks from this album were repackaged by Sony BMG and released as a new collection very closely resembling the 1971 Greatest Hits album, but with the addition of "Shake Your Moneymaker" and "Love That Burns".

The Pious Bird Of Good Omen
Release Date: 2004-10-26
Duration: 63:52

Prev Album
Next Album
Song Title       Time
1Need Your Love So Bad    6:55
2Rambling Pony No.2 (Alternative Original Mix)    3:32
3I Believe My Time Ain't Long    3:01
4The Sun Is Shining    3:09
5Albatross    3:09
6Black Magic Woman    2:50
7Jigsaw Puzzle Blues    1:33
8Like Crying    2:29
9Need Your Love So Bad (Version#1:Take 1-Previously Unissued/False Start)    11:32
10Need Your Love So Bad (Version #2-Takes 1 & 2)    13:06
11Need Your Love So Bad (USA Version-Previously Unissued)    6:18
12I Need Your Love    6:18

Download the FREE Starpulse Radio App to Win a SOL Republic Speaker! in Starpulse's Contests on LockerDome