Related Artists


Celtic Woman


Type O Negative

Depeche Mode




Gloria Estefan


Enigma Albums

Home > Music > E > Enigma > Albums

''MCMXC a.D.'' (''1990'' in Roman numerals followed by an abbreviation of "Anno Domini") is a concept album created by the musical project Enigma, spearheaded by Michael Cretu. Released at the end of 1990, it was Enigma's debut album. The project's popularity soon soared beyond Cretu's expectations after the album's launch, as it reached number 1 position in charts of 41 countries.

Four singles were excerpted from this album: "Sadeness (Part I)", "Principles of Lust", "Mea Culpa (Part II)" and "The Rivers of Belief". "Sadeness" and ''MCMXC a.D.'' itself hit No. 1 on the UK singles and albums charts respectively on its UK debut in January 1991. On the U.S. market "Sadeness (Part I)" reached fifth place on the Billboard Hot 100 and ''MCMXC a.D.'' made sixth place on the Billboard 200 and remained in the charts for a total of 282 weeks.

''MCMXC a.D.'' was one of the first albums to be recorded on a hard disk after Cretu's upgrade to the A.R.T. Studio.

Label: Virgin Records
Release Date: 2006-11-28
Duration: 40:02

Prev Album
Next Album
Song Title Time Play Price Download
1The Voice Of Enigma 2:21
$1.29 Buy Song
2Principles Of Lust: a. Sadeness/b. Find Love/c. Sadeness (Reprise) 11:37
$1.29 Buy Song
3Callas Went Away 4:27
$1.29 Buy Song
4Mea Culpa 5:02
$1.29 Buy Song
5The Voice & The Snake 1:39
$1.29 Buy Song
6Knocking On Forbidden Doors 4:29
$1.29 Buy Song
7Back To The Rivers Of Belief: a. Way To Eternity/b. Hallelujah/c. The Rivers Of Belief 10:27
$1.29 Buy Song