Related Artists


Celtic Woman


Type O Negative

Depeche Mode




Gloria Estefan


Enigma Albums

Home > Music > E > Enigma > Albums

''Le Roi Est Mort, Vive Le Roi!'' (French for "The King is Dead, Long Live the King!") is a 1996 album created by the music project Enigma.

Released on November 25, 1996, the album reached to the top spot in Norway's top 40 charts and third in the whole of Europe. Two singles from the album - "Beyond the Invisible" and "T.N.T. for the Brain" were also released at around the same time of its parent album. A planned third single, "The Roundabout" was scrapped at the last minute for unclear reasons, even though a remix had already been created by DJ Quicksilver.

This album continued Enigma's trend, giving it a slightly more modern, futuristic sound by combining the elements of Enigma's first album, ''MCMXC a.D.'' and their second album, ''The Cross of Changes''. Michael Cretu, producer of the project, considered ''Le Roi Est Mort, Vive Le Roi'' to be the child of the previous two albums, with the first being the father and the second being the mother, as indicated by the 19-second track, "Third of its Kind".

There are two editions of the packaging; one with standard paper artwork, and another with translucent tray and booklet artwork printed on a heavier plastic.

''Le Roi Est Mort, Vive Le Roi!'' was nominated in the 1998 Grammy Awards for Best New Age Album and Johann Zambryski's album art design earned him a nomination for Best Recording Package.

The intro track begins with a sample of mission control contacting the ''Discovery'' from the movie 2001: A Space Odyssey. The intro, including the famed "Enigma horn", is played in reverse for the closing track, "Odyssey of the Mind".

The track "T.N.T. for the Brain" contains samples taken from ''Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds''. The samples are just audible, underlying the main music. They can be most clearly heard at the start and the end of the track, but are just noticeable throughout.

Le Roi Est Mort, Vive Le Roi!
Label: Virgin
Release Date: 2003-03-03
Duration: 45:29

Prev Album
Next Album
Song Title Time Play Price Download
1Le Roi Est Mort, Vive Le Roi! 1:58
$1.29 Buy Song
2Morphing Thru Time 5:46
$1.29 Buy Song
3Third Of Its Kind 00:19
$1.29 Buy Song
4Beyond The Invisible 4:59
$1.29 Buy Song
5Why!... 4:58
$1.29 Buy Song
6Shadows In Silence 4:20
$1.29 Buy Song
7The Child In Us 5:04
$1.29 Buy Song
8T.N.T. For The Brain 4:25
$1.29 Buy Song
9Almost Full Moon 3:26
$1.29 Buy Song
10The Roundabout 3:38
$1.29 Buy Song
11Prism Of Life 4:54
$1.29 Buy Song
12Odyssey Of The Mind 1:41
$1.29 Buy Song