Related Artists

Rilo Kiley



Tegan and Sara

Dresden Dolls

Sufjan Stevens

The Decemberists

Hot Hot Heat

Bon Iver


Eisley Biography

Home > Music > E > Eisley > Biography

Birth Place: Tyler, Texas, U.S.
Years Active: 1997–present
Genres: Indie, Rock, Pop

Eisley is a rock band from Tyler, Texas, consisting of four siblings, Chauntelle, Sherri, Stacy, and Weston DuPree, and their cousin Garron DuPree, all of whom were born and live in Texas. The band's name changed several times in their early years. They began as The Towheads, before changing their name to Mos Eisley, after Mos Eisley, a town in the “Star Wars” films. When the band signed in 2003, there were worries of legal troubles with the name. After considering "Neverland" and "Sinclair", they eventually decided just to drop the "Mos" portion of their name and became simply "Eisley."

The band has had an unstable bass lineup over the years. After friend Amy Whittaker left in 1998, Taylor Muse filled in as a non-member, contributing the band's first name, Moss Eisley, but soon left to continue working with his other bands, including Quiet Company. Good friend Jonathan Wilson stepped in to become their bassist in late 2001 but decided to step down in July 2005 during their tour with Hot Hot Heat. He was replaced as bassist by Garron DuPree, the DuPrees' then fifteen year old cousin in 2005.

Eisley performed as an unsigned indie band for many years between 1998 and 2003, mostly playing clubs in Texas. In 2003 they released the EPs, “Laughing City” and “Marvelous Things.” Later that year they were signed to Warner Bros. Records.

Their first full-length album, “Room Noises” was released in 2005 through Reprise Records. The album had three singles, "Memories," "Telescope Eyes" and "I Wasn't Prepared." They also released a pair of EPs in 2005, “Telescope Eyes E.P.” and “Head Against the Sky.” The title song, “Head Against the Sky” was recorded in Seattle, Washington and was the last song recorded with bass player Jonathan Wilson. In 2006 another EP, “Final Noise E.P.” was released featuring songs by artists Simon Dawes and Timmy Curran.

Eisley’s second LP, “Combinations” was released in 2007. The album peaked at #70 on the U.S. Billboard 200 Albums chart, their highest showing to date. The single for the album was “Invasion.” Also in 2007, the EP “Like the Actors E.P.” was released. The EP contains the proper version of "Sun Feet," as well as B-Sides from “Combinations.”

“Fire Kite E.P.” was released in 2009 via Sire Records. There are two versions of the EP. The digital version has an extra demo song, whereas the hard copy has an Eisley cover performed by Max Bemis of the band Say Anything. In 2010, the band announced on their website that they have left Warner Bros. In November 2010, it was announced that the band had signed with Equal Vision Records.

Their third album, “The Valley” was released in 2011 on Equal Vision Records. The album debuted at #13 on the Billboard Independent Albums chart and #80 on the Billboard 200.