Related Artists

The Suicide Machines

Simian Mobile Disco

Matthew Sweet

The Mighty Mighty Bosstones

Stereo MC's

Dub Pistols Biography

Home > Music > D > Dub Pistols > Biography

Genres: Electronica/Dance, Pop, Rap/Hip Hop, Reggae/Ska

Dub Pistols are a London based dub music and big beat band, founded by ex-club promoter, Barry Ashworth in 1996. The other members of the band are record producer and bassist Jason O'Bryan, Brooklyn producer and lyricist, T. K. Lawrence on vocals, Jap Slut guitarist John King, and turntablist DJ Stix / Steve Hunt. Guest songwriters and vocalists include Blade, James Dewes Sheffield (JMS), Rodney King and Terry Hall. In 2008 Dan Bowskill joined the band.

The band debuted in late 1998 with the singles “There's Gonna Be a Riot” and “Best Got Better.” By the time of their 1998 debut album “Point Blank,” big beat appeared to have run its course; however Dub Pistols remained an infectious live draw, captivating audiences in the United Kingdom and around the world. The group's second album, “Six Million Ways to Live,” appeared in 2001 and was followed a year later by the mix album “Y4K: Next Level Breaks.”

They have contributed to numerous film soundtracks, including “Blade II,” “Bad Company” and “Mystery Men.” They have also released a significant number of remixed tracks from other artists. The most notable of these include a remix of Ian Brown's “Dolphins Were Monkeys,” Limp Bizkit's “My Way,” “The Crystal Method's “Do It” and Moby's “James Bond Theme.”

Their third album, “Speakers and Tweeters” was released in 2007 through Sunday Best and featured T. K. Lawrence, JMS, Blade, Rodney P and Terry Hall. “Rum'n'Coke,” their fourth album, was released in May 2009 to a wide musical acclaim. It featured guest appearances from Ashley Slater (Freakpower), Lindy Layton (Beats International) and DJ Justin Robertson.

Dub Pistols issued their next album, “Re-Hash,” in 2011. It was followed in 2012 by the release of their sixth LP, “Worshipping the Dollar.”