Related Artists

Mint Condition

Musiq Soulchild

Force M.D.'s


Faith Evans






Dru Hill Biography

Home > Music > D > Dru Hill > Biography

Birth Place: Baltimore, Maryland USA
Years Active: 1992-present
Genres: R&B, Soul, Gospel, New Jack Swing

Dru Hill is an American singing group, most popular during the late 1990s, whose repertoire included R&B, soul, and gospel music. Founded in Baltimore, Maryland, and active since 1992, Dru Hill comprised of founder Tamir "Nokio" Ruffin and main lead singer Mark "Sisqó" Andrews, Larry "Jazz" Anthony, and James "Woody Rock" Green.

Signing to Island Records through Haqq Islam's University Records imprint, Dru Hill released their 1996 self-titled, platinum selling debut. All four of Dru Hill's singles were Top 10 hits on the Billboard Hot R&B Singles chart, with "In My Bed" and "Never Make a Promise" charting at number one. "Tell Me", "In My Bed", and "Never Make a Promise" were also Top 20 hits on the Billboard Hot 100, peaking at 18, 4, and 7, respectively.

1998’s 2x-platinum “Enter the Dru” included the singles "These Are the Times" and "Beauty", as well as the group's third #1 R&B hit "How Deep Is Your Love."

Dru Hill separated for a period from late 1999 to 2002, during which time Sisqó and Woody released solo albums.

In 2002, by then part of the Def Soul record label, the group reunited and added fifth member Rufus "Scola" Waller to the lineup for their third platinum album, ''Dru World Order.'' "I Should Be" peaked at number 25 on the Billboard Hot 100 pop singles chart in the United States, and number six on the Billboard Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Singles & Tracks chart. Its follow-up, "I Love You", was less successful, peaking at number 77 pop and number 21 R&B spring 2003. The album itself peaked at number 21 on the Billboard 200 albums chart, and at number 2 on the Billboard R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart.

“InDRUpendence Day,” Dru Hill's fourth album, released on July 27, 2010. It features the group's new member, Tao. The album has released three singles, "Love MD", "Remain Silent" and "Back to the Future.”