Related Artists


Joe Cocker


George Thorogood & The Destroyers

Ten Years After

The Who

Janis Joplin


Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young

Tommy James & The Shondells

The Doors Albums

Home > Music > D > Doors, The > Albums

''Morrison Hotel'' (sometimes referred to as ''Hard Rock Cafe'' from the title of the first side of the LP, whose second side is titled ''Morrison Hotel'') is The Doors' fifth album. It was released in 1970. After their experimental work ''The Soft Parade'' was not as well received as anticipated, the group went back to basics and back to their roots. On this album, there is a slight steer toward blues, which would be fully explored by the band on their next album, ''L.A. Woman''. The strategy worked; even though no major hit singles were drawn from the album, ''Morrison Hotel'' reestablished The Doors as favorites of the critics, peaking at #4 on the US album chart, and when they followed with ''L.A. Woman'' the next year, they were rewarded with two more US Top 20 hits. The album also became the band's highest charting studio album in the UK, where it peaked at #12.

Additional musicians include harmonica whiz G. Puglese (aka John Sebastian) and blues master Lonnie Mack on bass.

The cover photo was taken at the actual Morrison Hotel located at 1246 South Hope Street in Los Angeles. The band asked the owners if they could photograph the hotel and they declined, so the band went inside when nobody was looking and took the photograph. The rear cover features a photograph of the Hard Rock Cafe on 300 East 5th Street, Los Angeles. The founders of the later and otherwise unrelated Hard Rock Cafe chain used the name, having seen it on the Doors' album. The original cafe is no longer open for business.

Morrison Hotel
Label: Rhino/Elektra
Release Date: 2003-05-22
Duration: 37:23

Prev Album
Next Album
Song Title       Time
1Roadhouse Blues    04:04
2Waiting For The Sun    03:59
3You Make Me Real    02:51
4Peace Frog    02:59
5Blue Sunday    02:11
6Ship Of Fools    03:09
7Land Ho!    04:09
8The Spy    04:16
9Queen Of The Highway    02:47
10Indian Summer    02:34
11Maggie M'Gill    04:24