Related Artists

Bell Biv DeVoe

Naughty By Nature

Public Enemy

Heavy D. & The Boyz

Slick Rick

A Tribe Called Quest

Sir Mix-A-Lot

2 Live Crew

The Pharcyde

Biz Markie

Digital Underground Albums

''Sex Packets'' is the debut album from the 1990s rap group Digital Underground and is a concept album about "G.S.R.A." (Genetic Suppression Relief Antedotes), a pharmaceutical substance that is produced in the form of a large glowing pill (about the size of a quarter), that comes in a condom-sized package, and is allegedly developed by the government to provide its intended users (Astronauts and the like) with a satisfying sexual experience in situations where the quest-for/attainment-of such experiences would be counterproductive to the mission at hand.

The album was released in the spring of 1990 following the success of its two lead-off singles: "Doowutchyalike," a moderate club hit, followed by mega-hit "The Humpty Dance," which climbed all the way to #11 on the pop charts, #7 on the R&B charts, and #1 on the Billboard Rap Singles chart. ''Sex Packets'' delivered on the promise of its singles with an abundance of P-Funk samples, jazzy interludes, and an innovative amalgam of samples and live instrumentation, earning it positive reviews and platinum sales. The album was selected as one of The Source's 100 Best Rap Albums in 1998, and was re-issued on February 8, 2005 by Rhino Entertainment. The album is broken down track-by-track by Digital Underground in Brian Coleman's book ''Check the Technique''.

Album Certification: RIAA certified million seller.

Sex Packets
Label: Rhino
Release Date: 2010-11-22
Duration: 65:29

Prev Album
Next Album
Song Title       Time
1The Humpty Dance    6:30
2The Way We Swing    6:48
3Rhymin' On The Funk    6:16
4The New Jazz (One)    00:40
5Underwater Rimes (Remix)    4:23
6Gutfest '89 (Edit)    5:50
7The Danger Zone    5:31
8Freaks Of The Industry    5:38
9Doowutchyalike    8:51
10Packet Prelude    0:57
11Sex Packets    7:21
12Street Scene    00:32
13Packet Man    4:41
14Packet Reprise    1:30