Related Artists


Big L


A Tribe Called Quest

Aesop Rock


Gang Starr


The Roots

Souls Of Mischief

Del tha Funkee Homosapien Biography

Birth Name: Teren Delvon Jones
Born: 1972/08/12
Birth Place: Oakland, California, U.S.
Years Active: 1990–present
Genres: Hip Hop

Del The Funky Homosapien (born Teren Delvon Jones, August 12, 1972) is an American underground rapper. Born in Oakland, California, he is the cousin of seminal west coast rapper Ice Cube, and began his career writing lyrics for Ice Cube's band, Da Lench Mob.

In 1991, with the help of Ice Cube, Del released his first solo album, “I Wish My Brother George Was Here,” at the age of 18. The album was a commercial success largely due to the popularity of the hit single, “Mistadobalina.” Ultimately Del, who was not pleased with the limited musical range of the album, severed his production-artist relationship with Ice Cube for his next album, 1993’s “No Need for Alarm.”

“No Need for Alarm” saw the introduction of the Oakland clique Hieroglyphics, whose original members included Souls of Mischief (Opio, A-Plus, Phesto and Tajai), Casual, Pep Love, Del, and producer Domino.

Del would not produce another album for five years. His third album, “Future Development,” was released in 1997 under the Hieroglyphics Imperium Recordings label. Del also released another collaborative work with the Hieroglyphics crew in 1998, which was their debut album, “3rd Eye Vision.”

In 2000 Del released his fourth solo album, “Both Sides of the Brain,” as well as “Deltron 3030” which was a collaborative work with artists Dan the Automator and Kid Koala. The concept album set in the year 3030 that told of the fight by Deltron Zero (Del's alter ego) against huge corporations that rule the universe. The lyrics were written in less than two weeks and were characterized by extravagant allusions to futuristic outer-space themes in the tradition of Afrofuturist works by Sun Ra and George Clinton. Many samples originated with the contemporary French classical composer William Sheller.

The trio also contributed to Gorillaz' 2001 eponymous album “Gorillaz.” Del appeared on the singles “Clint Eastwood” and “Rock the House.” 2003 saw the release of “Full Circle,” the second full-length album from the Hieroglyphics crew.

In 2004 Elektra released “The Best of Del tha Funkee Homosapien: The Elektra Years” without the approval of Del. The album only included songs from his first two albums, along with a handful of B-sides from that era. Del was not pleased and advised people to not buy the record, saying it was just Elektra trying to make money off him due to his newfound fame.

In 2008 Del released “Eleventh Hour” through Definitive Jux. Del's next album “Funk Man (The Stimulus Package)” was made available for free download in 2009. In September of the same year, he released a new album, “Automatik Statik,” for a minimum of $3.

Del released his next album “It Ain't Illegal Yet” in 2010. There is no fixed price for the album, allowing listeners to pay whatever they wish. Paying certain prices for the album gave certain incentives, including opportunities for personal collaborations with Del.

Del released the album “Golden Era” in 2011 in a three-disc set including “Funk Man (The Stimulus Package)” and “Automatik Statik.”

A second Deltron 3030 album, “Event 2,” was released in 2013. Guests appearing on the record included Damon Albarn, The Lonely Island, Zach De La Rocha, Mike Patton, David Cross, Amber Tamblyn, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Black Rob, Emily Wells, Jamie Cullum and David Chang.

Del shared a free LP entitled “Iller Than Most” in 2014. He uploaded the record to SoundCloud under the username Zartan Drednaught COBRA.