Related Artists

Okkervil River

Manchester Orchestra


Tokyo Police Club

Rogue Wave

Cold War Kids

The Dead Weather

We Are Scientists

The Mars Volta


Dead Confederate Biography

Home > Music > D > Dead Confederate > Biography

Birth Place: Athens, Georgia
Years Active: 2006–present
Genres: Alternative Rock

Dead Confederate is an American alternative rock band formed in Augusta, Georgia and based in Athens, Georgia. The band's sound has been described as a mix of alternative country, psychedelic rock and grunge.

Childhood friends Thomas Hardy Morris and Walker Howle have played together since high school in Augusta, Georgia and along with Morris's brother Dawson hooked up with Jason Scarboro and Brantley Senn to form Redbelly in college in 1997.

Redbelly's original lead singer, Dawson Morris, left and the band eventually went on to release its self-titled debut in October 2003. At this point the band was primarily a southern rock-influenced jam band whose songs would often be 20 or 30 minutes long and were styled between Neil Young and Pink Floyd.

A turning point for the band came when the members relocated to Atlanta, where John Watkins joined them and they renamed themselves The Redbelly Band. The Redbelly Band released an EP, entitled “Underbelly,” in 2004 and what would become the Redbelly Band's last album, “Petition To The Queen,” in 2006.

In late 2006, the members relocated to Athens, where Morris and Senn attended college. Taking themselves more seriously and writing tighter, more song-based material, they renamed the band Dead Confederate. In 2007, former Capitol Records president Gary Gersh, who had previously signed Sonic Youth and Nirvana to Geffen Records signed Dead Confederate as the first band on his new label TAO. Radio DJ.

In January 2008, the band released its self-titled debut EP, which was a collection of early recordings. In September 2008, the band released its first LP, “Wrecking Ball,” on the TAO label. The band recorded the album earlier that year with producer Mike McCarthy in Austin, Texas.

In 2009, the band signed a deal with Kartel in the U.K. and Europe, which saw “Wrecking Ball” released in October 2009, with a selection of the tracks from the band's debut EP as bonus material.

The band released its second LP, “Sugar,” in North America in October 2010, and in the U.K and Europe in September. The album was recorded with producer John Agnello in Hoboken, New Jersey, during record-setting snowfall, a factor that influenced the album's title.

Following a number of live dates with different drummers, the band announced in August 2011 that founding member, drummer Jason Scarboro, had left the band. The band set to work on their third studio album in early 2012 with Andy LeMaster and Drive-By Truckers producer David Barbe at Chase Park Transduction in Athens. The album, “In The Marrow, was released in April 2013 via the band's own Redeye Distribution distributed Spiderbomb Records. It featured new drummer JJ Bower and guests Thayer Sarrano and Matt Stoessel.

In December 2012, the band released the EP, “Peyote People,” featuring tracks recorded following the album sessions digitally though their official website. The EP featured guest musicians in addition to the band.