Related Artists

Seasons After

My Darkest Days

Corrosion Of Conformity


Adelitas Way

Danko Jones Biography

Home > Music > D > Danko Jones > Biography

Birth Place: Canada
Years Active: 1996–present
Genres: Hard Rock

Danko Jones is a Canadian rock band from Toronto, Ontario. The band consists of Danko Jones (vocals/guitar), JC (also known as John Calabrese, bass guitar) and Dan Cornelius (drums).

In 1999 they released the self-produced “My Love Is Bold” EP and achieved national exposure with the single “Bounce.” In 2001 Bad Taste Records released a compilation of the band's early recordings, demos, and b-sides entitled, “I'm Alive and On Fire.”

In 2002 they released their first full-length album, “Born A Lion,” produced by Bill Bell, on Bad Taste Records in Europe and on Universal in Canada. The track, “Love is Unkind,” featured Tara MacLean on backing vocals.

2003 saw the release of “We Sweat Blood,” produced by Matt DeMatteo, and the group taking a heavier approach to their hard-rock sound.

“Sleep Is The Enemy” was released in 2006 and again produced by DeMatteo. The song, “Invisible” featured an appearance by vocalist John Garcia formerly of the band Kyuss.

Their fourth album, “Never Too Loud” was released in 2008 and produced by Nick Raskulinecz. The album yielded three singles, “Code Of The Road” followed by “Take Me Home” and “King Of Magazines.” The song, “Forest for the Trees” once again featured John Garcia as well as Pete Stahl of the band Scream.

In 2009 they released “B-Side” a compilation album of b-sides and unreleased tracks as well as a greatest hits compilation, “This Is Danko Jones.”

Their fifth album “Below the Belt” was released in 2010 and produced by DeMatteo. The album's first single, “Full Of Regret,” debuted at #96 on Canadian Hot 100 Singles chart. The second single, “Had Enough,” featured Ralph Macchio appearing in the accompanying video.