Related Artists


Armin Van Buuren

Paul Oakenfold

Paul Van Dyk


Benny Benassi




Crystal Method

DJ Tiesto Biography

Home > Music > D > DJ Tiesto > Biography

Birth Name: Tijs Michiel Verwest
Born: 1969/01/17
Birth Place: Breda, North Brabant, Netherlands
Years Active: 1985–present
Genres: Electronica, Trance, House, Dance, Progressive Trance

Tiësto OON (born Tijs Michiel Verwest on January 17, 1969) is a Dutch musician, DJ and record producer of electronic dance music. Although he has used many aliases in the past, he is best known for his work as DJ Tiësto. On his latest productions, however, he has dropped the "DJ" label and is now known simply as "Tiësto," an alias which is a twist of his childhood nickname.

After spending years searching for his personal style and working with DJs like Armin van Buuren (as Alibi) and Ferry Corsten (as Gouryella), he decided it was time to focus on his solo work. Tiësto's fame started to rise in the late 1990s after his set at the first ID&T Innercity party (Live at Innercity: Amsterdam RAI), and it continued to skyrocket in the early 2000s following his six-hour "Tiësto Solo" sets, which he performed without any other DJs or opening acts.

Tiësto's first studio album, “In My Memory,” produced five major hits in his career, the singles were "Dallas 4PM," "Flight 643," "Obsession," "Lethal Industry" and "Suburban Train."

After becoming the "No. 1 DJ in the world" according to DJMag for three consecutive years, he released in 2004 his second studio album, entitled “Just Be.” The album contained a #1 hit, its single "Traffic,” which was the first instrumental track to reach the top spot in his homeland of Holland in 23 years. The album also brought a new trance anthem known as "Adagio for Strings," which is a remake of Samuel Barbers classical song "Adagio for Strings."

In addition to this, a huge event made the release of the album “Parade of the Athletes” possible, the 2004 Summer Olympics Opening Ceremony in which he became the first DJ to perform live at the stadium.

In 2007 Tiësto released his fourth studio album, “Elements of Life” which was a great success even though it had fewer singles. The album was nominated in the category "Best Electronic/Dance Album" at the 50th Grammy Awards.

He released “Kaleidoscope” in 2009 and features the song "I Will Be Here" with Australian dance act Sneaky Sound System, which was released as the lead single. The album entered the Dutch album charts at #2. It also debuted at #20 on the UK album charts.