Related Artists

Big Pokey

Big Moe


Lil' Keke


Bun B


OG Ron C

South Park Mexican

Slim Thug

DJ Screw Biography

Home > Music > D > DJ Screw > Biography

Birth Name: Robert Earl Davis, Jr.
Born: 1971/07/20
Birth Place: Houston, Texas, United States
Died: 2000/11/16
Years Active: 1990-2000
Genres: Hip Hop, Political Rap, Chopped And Screwed

DJ Screw, born Robert Earl Davis, Jr. (July 20, 1971 – November 16, 2000), was an artist involved in the Houston hip hop scene. He was the originator of Screwed and Chopped music and the main music mixer for the Screwed Up Click.

He began DJing at age 13, and started his trademark slowed-down mixes in 1990. During the early 1990s, he invited some of the Houston rappers from the south side of the city to flow on his Screw tapes. This eventually led to the formation of the Screwed Up Click. He released five above ground releases: "All Screwed Up, Vol. 1" (1995), "3 'N the Mornin Part 1" (1995), "3 'N the Mornin Part 2 Blue" (1996), "3 'N the Mornin Part 2 Red" (1998) and "All Work, No Play" (1999).

His mixtapes include titles such as "June 27" and "The Final Chapter." In the mid-1990s Priority Records offered DJ Screw a record deal which he turned down.