Related Artists


Lords Of Acid

The Chemical Brothers



Aphex Twin

The Prodigy

Paul Van Dyk

Massive Attack

Howard Shore

Crystal Method Biography

Home > Music > C > Crystal Method > Biography

Birth Place: Los Angeles, California, U.S.
Years Active: 1993–present
Genres: Big Beat, Breaks

The Crystal Method is an American electronic music duo that was created in Los Angeles, California by Ken Jordan and Scott Kirkland in the early 1990s. The Crystal Method's music has appeared in numerous TV shows, films, video games, and advertisements.

In September 1997, The Crystal Method released their best-selling album, “Vegas.” “Vegas” peaked at #92 on the Billboard 200. It was certified gold by the RIAA in 1998, then platinum in 2007. Five of the album's ten tracks were released as singles, "Trip Like I Do," "Busy Child," "High Roller," "Comin' Back" and "Keep Hope Alive".

In 1999, the band went into the studio to record their next studio album, “Tweekend,” which featured more guest artists than “Vegas” had. The album was released in July 2001, and peaked at #32 on the Billboard 200, which is still the group's highest album chart position. The album also went to #1 on the Billboard U.S. Top Electronic Albums chart. Featured guests on the album included Rage Against the Machine guitarist Tom Morello, Stone Temple Pilots vocalist Scott Weiland, and others, like Doug Grean, DJ Swamp, Ryan "Ryu" Maginn, and Julie Gallios. Four singles were released from “Tweekend,” including "Wild, Sweet and Cool," "Murder," "Blowout," and "Name of the Game."

Jordan and Kirkland used to have a radio show called "Community Service" which aired Friday nights on radio station Indie 103.1, in California. A year after the release of “Tweekend,” The Crystal Method released a continuous mix album based on their radio show, titled “Community Service.” The album does not feature any new studio material from The Crystal Method, but is composed of remixes of bands like P.O.D., Rage Against the Machine, and Garbage, plus remixes of songs from “Tweekend.” “Community Service” peaked at #160 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart, #5 on the Top Electronic Albums chart and #15 on the Top Independent Albums chart.

After the release of “Community Service,” The Crystal Method went back into the studio to record their third album, “Legion of Boom.” In December 2003, the single "Born Too Slow," with vocals from John Garcia and guitar by Wes Borland was released. “Legion of Boom” was released in January 2004, and peaked at #36 on the Billboard 200. The other single released from “Legion of Boom,” entitled "Starting Over," featured vocals from Rahzel from The Roots. In 2005, the album was nominated for the Best Electronic/Dance Album Grammy.

On April 5, 2005, The Crystal Method released their sequel to “Community Service,” called “Community Service II,” another continuous mix of electronica songs and remixes of music by artists including The Doors, Unkle, New Order and Smashing Pumpkins. The album peaked at #31 on the Top Independent Albums chart and #8 on the Top Electronic Albums chart.

The group composed and performed the score for the film “London,” which was released in February 2006. The soundtrack album included excerpts from the score, two Crystal Method vocal tracks, “Smoked" and "Glass Breaker," which were also released as a single, and songs by artists like Evil Nine, The Out Crowd, and The Perishers.

Shortly after the release of the “London” soundtrack, The Crystal Method was approached by Nike to take part in a series of music releases specifically designed to be listened to while running. The group's contribution, “Drive: Nike + Original Run” was initially released digitally, in June 2006, with the physical release following a year later. “Drive” peaked at #23 on the Top Electronic Albums chart. The album, a 45 minute continuous mix, starts off slow, increases in tempo, and slows at the end, following the arc of a typical distance run.

In April 2009, The Crystal Method released the digital single "Drown in the Now," from their next album, “Divided by Night,” which was released the next month. A second single, "Black Rainbows," was also released. The album peaked at #38 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart, #2 on the Top Electronic Albums chart and #4 on the Top Independent Albums chart, and also garnered the duo another Grammy nomination. The album featured guest artists including Peter Hook (of New Order), Matisyahu, Justin Warfield, Emily Haines (of Metric), and Jason Lytle.