Related Artists


King Diamond

Dimmu Borgir


Arch Enemy


Children Of Bodom

Six Feet Under



Cradle Of Filth Biography

Home > Music > C > Cradle Of Filth > Biography

Birth Place: Suffolk, England
Years Active: 1991 - present
Genres: Extreme Metal

Cradle of Filth is an English extreme metal band, formed in Suffolk in 1991. The band's musical style evolved from black metal to a cleaner and more produced amalgam of Gothic metal, symphonic black metal and other extreme metal styles, while their lyrical themes and imagery are heavily influenced by Gothic literature, poetry, mythology and horror films.

They have sometimes been perceived as Satanic by casual observers, although their outright lyrical references to Satanism are few and far between, and use of Satanic imagery has arguably always had more to do with the shock value and mythological usage than any seriously-held beliefs.

The band's original members consisted of vocalist Dani Filth, guitarist Paul Ryan, keyboardist Ben Ryan (Paul's brother), bassist John Richard and drummer Darren White. With this line-up, Cradle of Filth recorded a demo in 1992, entitled “Invoking the Unclean.” Soon after, they recorded their second demo, “Orgiastic Pleasures Foul” with new guitarist Robin Eaglestone (aka. Robin Graves). He left the band shortly afterward, but following the departure of John Richard, Eaglestone returned to take his place as bassist. Guitarist Paul Allender joined the band at the same time. Following these changes, another demo was recorded, entitled “Total Fucking Darkness.” White left the band soon after, paving the way for the entry of drummer Nicholas Barker.

Cradle of Filth signed with Cacophonous Records in 1994, releasing their debut, “The Principle of Evil Made Flesh.” A series of differences between band members arose, and there were also problems between the band and the label.

Their second work, the EP “Vempire or Dark Faerytales in Phallustein,” issued in 1996, saw further changes in the line-up. The Ryan brothers left, and Stuart Anstis (guitarist) and Damien Gregori (keyboardist) joined, and Paul Allender was replaced by Jared Demeter.

While writing material for a new album, the band negotiated their departure from Cacophonous Records, and in November 1996, signed with European label Music for Nations. Later that year, they released “Dusk... and Her Embrace,” an album that substantially expanded the group's growing cult following.

Their next album was “Cruelty and the Beast,” released in 1998 featured new guitarist Gian Pyres. Two years later the group returned with “From the Cradle to Enslave,” an EP that featured new drummer Adrian Erlandsson (formerly of Sweden's At the Gates and The Haunted), as Barker had departed to join Dimmu Borgir.

The band's several lineup changes continued as Paul Allender rejoined the group and Martin Powell (ex-Anathema and My Dying Bride) replaced Smith on keyboards for the full-length album “Midian,” their last for Music For Nations, which was released on Halloween 2000.

“Bitter Suites to Succubi” was released on the band's own Abracadaver label in the UK and Spitfire Records in the US in 2001. The group signed to Sony for one album in 2003, adding a choir and orchestra for “Damnation and a Day,” and moved to Roadrunner Records for 2004's “Nymphetamine,” followed by the seventh full-length “Thornography” in 2006, and “Godspeed on the Devil's Thunder” in 2008.

“Darkly Darkly Venus Aversa” released in 2010 was their first for the Peaceville label.