Jason Collett Biography

Home > Music > C > Collett, Jason > Biography

Birth Place: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Years Active: 1999–present
Genres: Alt-country, Indie Rock

Jason Collett is a Toronto based singer-songwriter and a member of Broken Social Scene. He began writing songs at a young age to escape the boredom of his suburban life. He was a part of the short-lived alternative country group Bird, of which Andrew Cash and Hawksley Workman were also members. Bird released one album, 2000’s “Chrome Reflection.” Collett also took part in Toronto’s popular indie music gathering, Radio Mondays. Collett, along with others such as The Weakerthans and artists on the record label Arts & Crafts, would perform and write songs together.

In 2001 Collett released his debut solo album, “Bitter Beauty.” His second solo album, consisting of songs from his earlier releases “Chrome Reflection” and “Bitter Beauty,” was issued in 2002.

Collett became a member of Broken Social Scene, serving as one of their guitarists, after the release of the band’s 2002 album, “You Forgot It In People.” Though Collett took a break from touring with Broken Social Scene in the fall of 2005 to pursue his solo career and spend time with his family, he has made many musical connections through the band.

His 2005 album, “Idols of Exile,” produced by Howie Beck, featured many prominent Canadian artists. Broken Social Scene’s Kevin Drew, Leslie Feist and Brendan Canning all contributed, as did members of Stars and Metric. It was his first album released on the Arts & Crafts label.

Again produced by Howie Beck, his next solo album, “Here’s to Being Here,” was released in 2008 by Arts & Crafts. Guest musicians appearing on the record included, Drew, Andrew Whiteman, Tony Scherr and Liam O'Neil of The Stills

“Rat a Tat Tat,” his fifth solo album, was issued by Arts & Crafts in 2010. The album was produced by Carlin Nicholson and Michael O'Brien of Toronto-based band Zeus, the album featured guest musicians

Michael P. Clive Rob Drake, Afie Jurvanen, Neil Quin and Jeremy Little, among others.

Teaming with producer Howie Beck again, “Reckon,” was released in 2012. Many of his past collaborators appeared on the album, including Drew, Jurvanen, Nicholson and O’Brien.