Related Artists


Death Cab For Cutie

The Bravery

Dave Matthews Band

The Killers


Snow Patrol

The Strokes

The Cure


Coldplay Albums

Home > Music > C > Coldplay > Albums

''X&Y'' is the third studio album by English alternative rock band Coldplay, released 6 June 2005 in the United Kingdom via the record label Parlophone. The album, which features influences of electronic music, was produced by the band and British record producer Danton Supple. British record producer Ken Nelson was supposed to produce much of the album, however, many songs written during their sessions were ditched due to the band's dissatisfaction. The album's cover art is a combination of colours and blocks, which is a representation of the Baudot code.

In March 2004, Coldplay announced details in the working of ''X&Y''. Initial plans were to stay out of the public eye throughout the year. Vocalist Chris Martin stated, "We really feel that we have to be away for a while and we certainly won't release anything this year, because I think people are a bit sick of us." This plan, however, was not due to the pressure their second album, ''A Rush of Blood to the Head'', had induced but they were trying "to make the best thing that anyone has ever heard".

The album has been considered a landmark achievement of the band, topping many charts worldwide, including the United Kingdom and United States, the latter being their first. With accumulated sales of over 11 million units, ''X&Y'' was the best-selling album released in 2005 worldwide. Reviews for ''X&Y'' were mostly positive, but critics of the album felt it did not quite meet the standards of its predecessor in 2002. The album has spawned the singles "Speed of Sound", "Fix You", "Talk", "The Hardest Part", "What If" and "White Shadows".

Label: Parlophone Records Limited
Release Date: 2014-03-06
Duration: 62:12

Prev Album
Next Album
Song Title       Time
1Square One    04:48
2What If    04:59
3White Shadows    05:29
4Fix You    04:56
5Talk    05:12
6X&Y    04:35
7Speed Of Sound    4:48
8A Message    04:46
9Low    05:33
10The Hardest Part    04:23
11Swallowed In The Sea    04:00
12Twisted Logic    04:32
13Til Kingdom Come (Hidden CD Track)    04:11