Related Artists

Death Cab For Cutie

The Killers

The Bravery


Mumford & Sons

Snow Patrol

John Mayer

The Strokes


Dave Matthews Band

Coldplay Albums

Home > Music > C > Coldplay > Albums

''A Rush of Blood to the Head'' is the second studio album by English rock band Coldplay. Released on 26 August 2002 through the label Parlophone in the UK, the album was produced by the band and British record producer Ken Nelson. Recording started after the band became popular in Europe and overseas with the release of their debut album, ''Parachutes'', and, in particular, one of its singles, "Yellow". Attitudes to songwriting were affected by the September 11 attacks in the United States, which occurred the week before recording started. The songs featured in the album have a greater use of piano and guitar than its predecessor. In 2003, it was ranked number 473 on ''Rolling Stone's'' 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

The album was made available in August 2002, two months after its original release date. It was released on August 27 in the United States through Capitol Records. In 2008, Capitol released a remastered version of the album on a 180-gram vinyl record as part of the "From the Capitol Vaults" series. Like ''A Rush of Blood''s successors and ''Parachutes'', The album was a huge commercial success, debuting at number one in the United Kingdom and later placing at number seven of the country's 20 biggest-selling albums in the 21st century. The British Phonographic Industry has since certified the album 8x platinum for its accumulated sales of over 2.6 million units in Britain and over 13 million worldwide. The album spawned the hit singles "In My Place", "The Scientist", "Clocks", and "God Put a Smile upon Your Face". ''A Rush of Blood to the Head'' has been praised by critics. It won the 2003 Grammy for Best Alternative Album for the second time in a row, successive to their previous win in the same category and the 2004 Grammy for Record of the Year for the song "Clocks".

A Rush Of Blood To The Head
Label: Parlophone Records Limited
Release Date: 2006-08-14
Duration: 54:19

Buy AlbumPrice: $9.99

Prev Album
Next Album
Song Title Time Play Price Download
1Politik 05:19
$1.29 Buy Song
2In My Place 03:47
$1.29 Buy Song
3God Put A Smile Upon Your Face 04:58
$1.29 Buy Song
4The Scientist 05:12
$1.29 Buy Song
5Clocks 05:08
$1.29 Buy Song
6Daylight 05:28
$1.29 Buy Song
7Green Eyes 03:44
$1.29 Buy Song
8Warning Sign 05:32
$1.29 Buy Song
9A Whisper 03:59
$1.29 Buy Song
10A Rush Of Blood To The Head 05:52
$1.29 Buy Song
11Amsterdam 05:20
$1.29 Buy Song
Album - A Rush Of Blood To The Head $9.99 Buy Album