Related Artists


Passion Pit

Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Broken Bells

The Raconteurs

The Strokes


The National



Cold War Kids Biography

Home > Music > C > Cold War Kids > Biography

Birth Place: Long Beach, California
Years Active: 2004–present
Genres: Indie Rock

Cold War Kids are an American indie rock band from Long Beach, California. Band members are Nathan Willett (vocals, piano, guitar), Jonnie Russell (guitar, vocals, keyboards), Matt Maust (bass guitar) and Matt Aveiro (drums, percussion).

Cold War Kids started in 2004 in historic downtown Fullerton in guitarist/vocalist Jonnie Russell's apartment above the restaurant Mulberry St. The band relocated to Whittier, California and began recording their first demos, which, when released in the spring of 2005, ultimately became known as the “Mulberry Street” EP.

The band then released two more EPs, “With Our Wallets Full” and “Up in Rags,” in 2006.

In the summer of 2006, Cold War Kids signed to Downtown Records and released their debut LP “Robbers & Cowards” that fall. Featuring the single “Hang Me Up to Dry” the album peaked at #15 on the Billboard Top Independent Albums chart.

The band's second album, “Loyalty to Loyalty,” was released in September 2008 and featured the Top 40 single “Something Is Not Right With Me.” The album reached #3 on the Billboard Top Independent Albums chart and #21 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart.

They released the EP, “Behave Yourself,” in December 2009. “Sermons,” featured on the EP, is a re-recording of the track “Sermons vs. the Gospel” that initially appeared on the “With Our Wallets Full” EP and as a hidden track at the end of their debut full-length “Robbers & Cowards.”

In January 2011 the band released the full length “Mine Is Yours” debuting at #21 on the Billboard 200. It featured the single “Louder Than Ever.”