Related Artists

Radio 4

The Rapture


Cold War Kids

LCD Soundsystem

Death From Above 1979

TV On The Radio

VHS Or Beta

The Black Keys


Chk Chk Chk Biography

Home > Music > C > Chk Chk Chk > Biography

Birth Place: Sacramento, California, United States
Years Active: 1996-present
Genres: Dance Punk, Indie Rock, Post-punk Revival

!!! (generally pronounced “chk chk chk”) is a dance-punk band that formed in Sacramento, California, in 1996. Members of !!! came from other local bands such as The Yah Mos, Black Liquorice and Popesmashers. The band is commonly associated with the dance-punk movement and is currently based in New York City, Sacramento and Portland, Oregon. !!! is composed of Mario Andreoni (guitar), Dan Gorman (horns/percussion/keys), Nic Offer (vocals), Tyler Pope (bass/various electronic devices), and Allan Wilson (horns/percussion/keys). Touring members include Shannon Funchess (vocals), Sean McGahan (various electronic devices/sound manipulation) and Paul Quattrone (drums).

After a tour together, members of Sacramento bands Black Liquorice and Popesmashers formed !!!. The band's name was inspired by the subtitles of the movie “The Gods Must Be Crazy,” in which the clicking sounds of the Bushmens' Khoisan language were represented as “!.” However, as the bandmembers themselves say, !!! is pronounced by repeating thrice any monosyllabic sound. “Chk Chk Chk” is the most common pronunciation, but they could just as easily be called “Pow Pow Pow,” “Bam Bam Bam,” “Uh Uh Uh, “etc. The URL of their official website suggests that “Chk Chk Chk” is the preferred pronunciation.

The band's debut full-length record came out in 2000 as a self-titled album on the label Gold Standard Laboratories. This was followed in 2003 by the single “Me and Giuliani Down By the School Yard,” a lengthy track combining house beats with sinewy basslines, psychedelic guitars, and simple lyrics which quote the title song of the musical “Footloose.”

A second full-length, “Louden Up Now,” was released on Touch and Go in America and on Warp Records in Europe in June 2004. In June 2005, !!! released a new EP covering “Take Ecstasy With Me” by The Magnetic Fields, and “Get Up” by Nate Dogg. The following December, the original drummer for the band, Mikel Gius, was struck and killed by a car while riding his bike.

!!! released their third album, “Myth Takes” in 2007. A fourth LP, “Strange Weather, Isn't It?,” was issued by Warp in 2010. The band released their fifth studio album, “Thr!!!er,” via Warp in 2013.