Related Artists

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

Rilo Kiley

Broken Social Scene

Andrew Bird

Belle & Sebastian

The National

The Jesus and Mary Chain

The New Pornographers

Animal Collective


Camera Obscura Biography

Home > Music > C > Camera Obscura > Biography

Birth Place: Glasgow, Scotland
Years Active: 1996–present
Genres: Indie Pop

Camera Obscura is an indie pop band from Glasgow, Scotland that was formed in 1996 by Tracyanne Campbell (guitar, vocals), John Henderson (vocals, percussion) and Gavin Dunbar (bass). David Skirving joined as a permanent guitarist not long after the band's formation. As the 2000s emerged the band's line-up changed with Lee Thompson joining on drums, Lindsay Boyd on keyboards, with Skirving leaving and Kenny McKeeve taking over lead guitarist duties.

Camera Obscura's debut album, “Biggest Bluest Hi Fi” arrived in 2001 and the lead track off the album, “Eighties Fan” was a hit with the band's growing fan base. 2002 saw Nigel Baillie join the band as a trumpeter and Carey Lander replacing Boyd.

The band's second album, “Underachievers Please Try Harder,” was issued in 2003 and was followed by a tour of England, Scotland, Ireland and the U.S. In 2004 founding member Henderson left the band and the band complete their third “Peel Session” with England's famed DJ John Peel.

Camera Obscura's third album, “Let's Get Out of This Country,” arrived in 2006 with the title song featured on the television show, “Friday Night Lights.”

2009 marked the band's signing with the record label 4AD and their debut for the label, “My Maudlin Career” arriving later that same year. Baillie left the band shortly after the album’s release.