Related Artists

The White Tie Affair

The Maine

Hey Monday

Cute Is What We Aim For

Forever The Sickest Kids

A Static Lullaby

Breathe Carolina

Four Year Strong

Every Avenue

Mayday Parade

The Cab Biography

Home > Music > C > Cab, The > Biography

Genres: Alternative/Indie, Electronica/Dance, Jazz, Pop, Rock

The Cab is an American rock band from Las Vegas, Nevada. Band members Alex DeLeon and Cash Colligan first began playing music together at Liberty High School in Henderson, Nevada and recorded demos as a duo which they put up on their MySpace page. DeLeon then asked drummer Alex Johnson, who was playing in a local hardcore band, to join The Cab. In late 2005, they became a full band with guitarist Paul Garcia, guitar/pianist Alex Marshall and drummer Alex Johnson.

The band signed to local label Olympus Records in January 2006 but released no material. After giving a demo to Spencer Smith and Jon Walker of Panic! at the Disco, Smith helped them sign to Decaydance Records in May 2007. Shortly after this, the band members graduated from high school. During this time they replaced Garcia with Ian Crawford, who moved from Washington to join the band.

Their Matt Squire-produced debut album, “Whisper War,” was released in April 2008, featuring Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco and Patrick Stump of Fall Out Boy on “One of Those Nights,” co-written by Stump and the first single from the album. “Whisper War” debuted on the Billboard 200 Albums chart at #108 and at #1 on the Billboard Heatseekers Albums chart for new and developing artists.

In June 2009 guitarist Crawford decided to leave the band and The Cab announced that Bryan Dawson would be replacing Crawford. In August 2009, bassist Colligan announced that he would also be leaving the band. In January 2010 Dawson left the band. The Cab announced in June 2011 they were departing from their label Fueled By Ramen and Decaydance Records before finally releasing their new record, “Symphony Soldier.”

Their second album “Symphony Soldier” was released in August 2011, with its first single “Bad” released in July 2011. The Cab self-funded and self-released the album. The pre-orders featured eleven packages, ranging from $10 to $9,999 and are now available as packages on the band's webstore. The Cab’s former member Ian Crawford played guitar on the album. It featured several guest artists co-writing, including Pete Wentz, Bruno Mars and Adam Levine.

In August 2011, The Cab welcomed a new drummer in Dave Briggs, previously of the band More Amor.