Related Artists

Animal Collective

TV On The Radio

Fleet Foxes


Broken Bells

The Walkmen

Yo La Tengo

Local Natives

Iron & Wine

The National

Broken Social Scene Biography

Home > Music > B > Broken Social Scene > Biography

Birth Place: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Years Active: 1999–present
Genres: Indie Rock, Baroque Pop, Art Rock, Dream Pop, Post-rock

Broken Social Scene is a Canadian indie rock band, a musical collective including as few as six and as many as nineteen members, formed in 1999 by Kevin Drew and Brendan Canning. All of its members currently play in various other groups and solo projects, mainly based around the city of Toronto.

Drew and Canning comprise the core of the band and released the band's ambient debut album, “Feel Good Lost,” on Noise Factory Records in 2001, with contributions by Justin Peroff, Charles Spearin, Bill Priddle, Leslie Feist, Jessica Moss and Stars' Evan Cranley. “Feel Good Lost” is a predominantly instrumental, Post-rock, ambient album, although it does feature some vocals by Leslie Feist and Kevin Drew.

In 2002 “You Forgot It In People” was released and it went on to win the Juno Award for Alternative Album of the Year in 2003. It features many of the same artists that appeared on “Feel Good Lost.” The songs "Lover's Spit", "Pacific Theme," "Looks Just Like the Sun" and "Stars and Sons" from “You Forgot It in People” have been featured in several motion pictures and television programs.

Broken Social Scene released their third full-length album, “Broken Social Scene” on October 4, 2005 featuring several new faces as part of Broken Social Scene including Stars members Torquil Campbell and David Newfeld, who produced this album as well as “You Forgot It In People.” At the 2006 Juno Awards it won the award for Alternative Album of the Year. It was also shortlisted for the 2006 Polaris Music Prize.

Broken Social Scene released their fourth full-length album on May 4, 2010 entitled “Forgiveness Rock Record.” It was recorded at Soma in Chicago, with John McEntire of Tortoise and The Sea and Cake producing, and in Toronto at the studio of Sebastian Grainger and James Shaw. Amy Millan, Emily Haines, and Leslie Feist recorded a track together, marking the first time in the band's history that the three have been recorded on the same song. Again, the album was short-listed for the for the 2010 Polaris Music Prize.