Related Artists

TV On The Radio

The National

Elliott Smith

Local Natives

Vampire Weekend

Fleet Foxes

The Shins

Sleigh Bells

Two Door Cinema Club


Broken Bells Biography

Home > Music > B > Broken Bells > Biography

Birth Place: United States
Years Active: 2009-present
Genres: Alternative Rock, Indie Rock

Broken Bells is an American alternative rock band composed of artist-producer Danger Mouse (Brian Burton) and James Mercer, the lead vocalist and guitarist for the indie rock band The Shins. Broken Bells compose and create as a duo, but are joined by a full band on tour. The live band included Nate Walcott and Nik Freitas of the Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band, and Jonathan Hischke and Dan Elkan, both ex-members of Hella.

Prior to the formation of Broken Bells, Mercer and Burton both worked together on the track "Insane Lullaby" on the album “Dark Night of the Soul” by Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse. Broken Bells have since performed the song several times, often as a tribute to the late Mark Linkous, the Sparklehorse frontman who died in early 2010.

Their debut, self-titled album, “Broken Bells,” was released in March 2010 on Columbia Records. The album, which Danger Mouse produced, peaked at #2 on the Billboard Alternative Albums chart, #3 on the Rock Albums chart and #7 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart. The lead single, “High Road,” peaked at #10 on the Billboard Alternative Singles chart and #15 on the Rock Songs chart. Other singles included “The Ghost Inside,” “October” and “Vaporize.”

An EP from the group, “Meyrin Fields,” was released in March 2011 on Columbia Records. It featured four songs recorded during the album sessions.