Related Artists

The Early November

Say Anything

Boys Night Out


Jack's Mannequin


Matchbook Romance

From First To Last

The Starting Line

Taking Back Sunday

Brand New Biography

Home > Music > B > Brand New > Biography

Birth Place: Levittown, Long Island, New York, United States
Years Active: 2000–present
Genres: Alternative/Indie, Rock

Brand New is an American rock band from Long Island, New York. Formed in 2000, the band currently consists of lead vocalist/guitarist/lyricist Jesse Lacey, guitarist/lyricist Vincent Accardi, bassist Garrett Tierney, drummer Brian Lane, and guitarist/keyboardist Derrick Sherman. In the late 1990s, Jesse Lacey, Garrett Tierney and Brian Lane were all members of the band The Rookie Lot. They eventually split off from the other members of the group, and in 2000 formed Brand New in Merrick, New York.

The band signed to Triple Crown Records and in 2001 released their debut studio album, “Your Favorite Weapon.”

Their second album, “Deja Entendu,” was released in 2003 and marked a stylistic change for the band. The album's first two singles, "The Quiet Things That No One Ever Knows" and "Sic Transit Gloria... Glory Fades," both entered the Top 40 on the United Kingdom Singles Chart. “Deja Entendu” was eventually certified gold in the United States.

Brand New moved to Interscope Records and released “The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me” in 2006. "Jesus Christ" became their highest charting single in the US, peaking at #30 on the Alternative Songs chart.

In March 2008, the band started their own record label, named Procrastinate! Music Traitors. Their fourth album, “Daisy,” was released in 2009 and became their highest charting album in the US, reaching #6 on the Billboard 200.