Related Artists

New Found Glory

Good Charlotte

Boys Like Girls

Fountains Of Wayne

Owl City

Natalie Imbruglia

Simple Plan

Barenaked Ladies

Bloodhound Gang

We The Kings

Bowling For Soup Biography

Home > Music > B > Bowling For Soup > Biography

Birth Place: Wichita Falls, Texas, United States, Denton, Texas
Years Active: 1994 – present
Genres: Pop Punk, Punk Rock, Alternative Rock

Bowling for Soup (often typeset as ¡Bowling for Soup! or abbreviated as BFS) is an American pop-punk band which originally formed in Wichita Falls, Texas in 1994 and is now based in Denton, Texas.

Their self-titled and self-released debut album was released in September 1994. Their second album, a split record with The V.I.M.S. titled, “Cell Mates,” was also released via their own label Que-so Records in February 1996.

Their third album, “Rock On Honorable Ones!!” was released in 1997 and is the only Bowling For Soup album to include a horn section. “Tell Me When to Whoa,” their fourth studio album was released in June 1998, and later re-released in 1999, on the local Denton music label FFROE.

“Let's Do It for Johnny!!,” Bowling for Soup's major label debut, was released on Jive in 2000. “Drunk Enough to Dance” was Bowling for Soup's second album with Jive Records, released in August 2002. One of the album's singles, "Girl All The Bad Guys Want," was nominated for a Grammy Award in 2003 in the Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal category.

“A Hangover You Don't Deserve” followed in 2004 and has become the band's only Top 40 album reaching #37 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart. Sales of the album were driven in large part by the radio airplay of the single "1985.” Mitch Allan, lead singer of SR-71, contributed background vocals to the song and appeared in the music video. "1985" became Bowling for Soup's biggest hit in the U.S., reaching #23 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart.

“Bowling for Soup Goes to the Movies,” a compilation album of cover songs and contributions to movie soundtracks was released by the band in 2005. Their next album, entitled “The Great Burrito Extortion Case,” was released in 2006 and peaked at #88 on the Billboard 200.

Their next album, “Sorry for Partyin'” was released in October 2009. It debuted at #104 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and #47 on the Rock Albums chart.

They released “Fishin' for Woos” in 2011 via Que-so Records/Brando Records. It entered the Billboard Independent Albums chart at #37 and at #189 on the Billboard 200.