Related Artists

TV On The Radio


The Strokes

Silversun Pickups

Yeah Yeah Yeahs


The Postal Service


The Killers

Arctic Monkeys

Bloc Party Albums

Home > Music > B > Bloc Party > Albums

''Silent Alarm'' is the debut studio album by British indie rock band Bloc Party. Recorded in Copenhagen and London in mid-2004 with producer Paul Epworth, it was first released on 2 February 2005 in Japan, with Wichita Recordings as the primary label. The record peaked at number three on the United Kingdom Albums Chart. In the United States, it entered the ''Billboard'' 200 at number 114 and the ''Billboard'' Top Independent Albums at number seven. The double A-side "So Here We Are/Positive Tension", "Banquet", and "Pioneers" were released as singles. ''Silent Alarm'' went on to achieve worldwide sales of over one million copies.

Bloc Party aimed to create an album that appealed to followers of different musical genres. Building on the arrangements in their demo songs recorded in 2004, the band members moulded tracks largely through live takes during the ''Silent Alarm'' studio sessions. The compositional focus was on rhythm and the drum and bass parts, while lyricist Kele Okereke's writing examined the feelings and hopes of young adults, including views on global politics. Following the album's completion, Bloc Party embarked on promotional tours before its release.

''Silent Alarm'' garnered widespread critical acclaim. Praise often centred on its fast tempo and passionate delivery. The record was generally treated as showcasing the potential high quality of British music. Later in 2005, it was remixed as ''Silent Alarm Remixed'' and was re-released with bonus tracks to coincide with Bloc Party's worldwide touring schedule. The album has received accolades throughout the music industry since its release.

Silent Alarm (Parental Advisory)
Label: Vice Records/Atlantic
Release Date: 2005-01-01
Duration: 54:00

Buy AlbumPrice: $9.99

Prev Album
Next Album
Song Title Time Play Price Download
1Like Eating Glass 4:21
$0.99 Buy Song
2Helicopter 3:40
$0.99 Buy Song
3Positive Tension 3:54
$0.99 Buy Song
4Banquet 3:22
$0.99 Buy Song
5Blue Light 2:47
$0.99 Buy Song
6She's Hearing Voices 3:29
$0.99 Buy Song
7This Modern Love 4:25
$9.99 Buy Album
8Pioneers 3:35
$0.99 Buy Song
9Price Of Gas 4:19
$0.99 Buy Song
10Little Thoughts 3:27
$0.99 Buy Song
11So Here We Are 3:53
$0.99 Buy Song
12Luno 3:57
$0.99 Buy Song
13Plans 4:10
$0.99 Buy Song
14Compliments 4:41
$0.99 Buy Song
Album - Silent Alarm (Parental Advisory) $9.99 Buy Album