Related Artists

TV On The Radio

Bon Iver

Iron & Wine

Okkervil River

Dr. Dog



Fleet Foxes

Band Of Horses

Andrew Bird

Blitzen Trapper Biography

Home > Music > B > Blitzen Trapper > Biography

Birth Place: Portland, Oregon, USA
Years Active: 2000–present
Genres: Alternative Country, Folk Rock, Indie Folk

Blitzen Trapper is a Portland, Oregon-based experimental alternative country/folk band signed to Sub Pop Records. Formed in 2000, the band currently operates as a sextet, with Eric Earley (guitar/vocals), Erik Menteer (guitar/keyboard), Brian Adrian Koch (drums/vocals), Michael VanPelt (bass), and Marty Marquis (guitar, keyboards, vocals).

Blitzen Trapper self-released its first three albums starting with 2003’s self-titled debut, which was followed in 2004 by “Field Rexx” and in 2007 with “Wild Mountain Nation.”

After signing with Sup Pop they made their debut on the label in 2008 with “Furr.” The album peaked at #22 on the Billboard Independent Albums chart while also making an entry on the Billboard 200 Albums chart.

Their second Sub Pop release, “Destroyer of the Void,” was issued in 2010. The album reached #11 on the Independent Albums chart.

In 2011 they released “American Goldwing via Sub Pop. Peaking at #23 on the Independent Albums chart, it also reached #104 on the Billboard 200.