Related Artists

Black Lips

The Black Angels

The Helio Sequence

Devendra Banhart


Broken Social Scene

The National

The Stills


Thom Yorke

Black Mountain Biography

Home > Music > B > Black Mountain > Biography

Birth Place: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Years Active: 2004-present
Genres: Hard Rock, Psychedelic Rock Jam Band

Black Mountain is a Canadian psychedelic rock-band composed of Stephen McBean, Amber Webber, Matt Camirand, Jeremy Schmidt and Joshua Wells.

Leader Stephen McBean also heads another similarly named band, Pink Mountaintops, who are the more experimental side of McBean's musical abilities. Black Mountain is the front line band for , a collective of musicians, artists and friends in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. According to an interview, the band said the "Black Mountain is just the five of us. The Black Mountain Army… which has kind of gotten blown out of proportion, it was kind of just a joke, because everybody thought we were this hippie collective, like we all lived in one house. But it’s basically just our friends at home in Vancouver, just our extended family of creative people that we know."

By day, three members of the band work for an organization (Insite) that meets the basic living requirements of the chronically poor, drug addicted and mentally ill near Vancouver's Main & Hastings intersection, in the Downtown Eastside neighbourhood. In an interview, the band said: "After work we all try not to think too hard about the effect it has on our lives. It keeps us grounded."

Black Mountain has released two LPs, ''Black Mountain'' (2005) and ''In The Future'' (2008), and 2 EPs ''Druganaut'' (2004) and ''Bastards of Light'' (2008) on the Jagjaguwar label. A split single with Destroyer was released in Fall 2004 on Spirit of Orr. The "Stormy High" single was released in 2006 on Suicide Squeeze records.

Also, in 2005, the band opened for Coldplay on their Twisted Logic Tour for three weeks, with their final opening in San Diego. Their self-titled album was chosen as one of's Top 100 Editor's Picks of 2005.

In 2007, they were featured on the soundtrack for the box-office hit movie ''Spider-Man 3'', with their song "Stay Free".

A vinyl single was released in April 2007 named "Surrender Sound Session: Unkle vs. Autolux/Black Mountain" with a remix of "No Hits" on the B side.

In a recent 10th anniversary edition of ''Uncut'', the band was mentioned in its included "Book of Rock Revelations."

The album ''In the Future'' (2008) was a finalist for the 2008 Polaris Music Prize.