Related Artists

of Montreal

Animal Collective

Flying Lotus


Boards of Canada

Los Campesinos!


The Tallest Man On Earth

Sleigh Bells


Black Moth Super Rainbow Biography

Birth Place: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, U.S.
Years Active: 2002–present
Genres: Experimental, Psychedelic Pop, Electronica, Neo-psychedelia

Black Moth Super Rainbow is an American experimental band from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Little is known about the band or its members, as they have kept themselves something of an enigma. Members of the band currently include Tobacco (songwriting, vocoder) The Seven Fields of Aphelion (keyboard, monosynth), Iffernaut (drums), Ryan Graveface (guitar) and Bullsmear (bass). Black Moth Super Rainbow's music contains elements of psychedelia, folk, electronica and pop. Their distinctive sound is characterized by analog electronic instruments including the vocoder, Rhodes piano and Novatron.

From 1996 to 2000, Tobacco existed as Allegheny White Fish. After Power Pill Fist (who is no longer with the band) joined, they were known as satanstompingcaterpillars from 2000 to 2002. Under satanstompingcaterpillars, the band self-released their music on different labels, including Fuckeroo and Side 8. After their third album, “The Most Wonderfulest Thing,” in 2002, the band added three members, Father Hummingbird, The Seven Fields of Aphelion and Iffernaut. They changed their name to form Black Moth Super Rainbow in 2003.

Black Moth Super Rainbow began releasing their music on The 70's Gymnastics Recording Company, which is the band's own imprint. Black Moth Super Rainbow's first album “Falling Through a Field” was issued in 2003 and served as a best-of collection for satanstompingcaterpillars.

After 2005, the Graveface label picked them up with “Lost, Picking Flowers in the Woods” and bonus reissued versions of their first two albums. Black Moth Super Rainbow's third album “Dandelion Gum” was released in 2007. With it came their first music video for the track “Sun Lips.”

In 2008, Black Moth Super Rainbow released “Drippers.” The EP not only included new tracks like “Happy Melted City” and “Milk Skates” but also featured some lost tracks from the “Dandelion Gum” era such as “We Are the Pagans” and “One Day I Had an Extra Toe.” It also featured Mike Watt and BMSR's first official remix of Laura Burhenn's song “Just for the Night.”

Along with “Drippers,” the band released “Bonus Drippers” for MP3 download on their Myspace page, which included older tracks, unreleased tracks and bonus tracks like “The Dark Forest Joggers,” a “Dandelion Gum” vinyl exclusive, “Side 9,” a “Lost, Picking Flowers in the Woods” vinyl bonus track, or “Melting in the Meadow,” a “Start a People” outtake track.

Their fourth album “Eating Us” was released in 2009. Around the end of the year, Rad Cult re-published “The Autumn Kaleidoscope Got Changed” by satanstompingcaterpillars.

In 2012, the band issued the EP, “Psychic Love Damage.” Later that year Tobacco created a Kickstarter campaign to fund the release of their newly announced album “Cobra Juicy.”