Related Artists



Alter Bridge

Corrosion Of Conformity





Judas Priest

In Flames

Black Label Society Biography

Home > Music > B > Black Label Society > Biography

Birth Place: Los Angeles, California, U.S.
Years Active: 1998-present
Genres: Heavy Metal, Hard Rock

Black Label Society is a heavy metal band formed by Zakk Wylde.

In May 1998 Wylde and drummer Phil Ondich recorded what became Black Label Society's debut album "Sonic Brew." "Bored To Tears, "Born To Lose" and "No More Tears" were released as promotional singles for the album. The band's second album "Stronger Than Death" followed in 2000. This was followed by "1919 Eternal" in 2002. "The Blessed Hellride," their fourth studio album, was released April 22, 2003. Ozzy Osbourne appears on the first single "Stillborn."

In 2004 they released "Hangover Music Vol. VI," which was the band's last release for Spitfire Records. In 2005, after the band signed with Artemis Records, the album "Mafia" was released. In 2006, the band left Artemis Records and signed to Roadrunner Records, releasing the album "Shot to Hell."

In June 2007, Black Label Society parted ways with Roadrunner Records. The band's newest album "Order of the Black" was released August 11, 2010 in North America and it sold around 33,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to enter the Billboard 200 chart at position number 4.