Related Artists

Animal Collective

Mates of State

LCD Soundsystem

Jamie Lidell

Arcade Fire

Broken Social Scene

Okkervil River

The Strokes

The National


Battles Biography

Home > Music > B > Battles > Biography

Birth Place: New York, New York, United States
Years Active: 2003–present
Genres: Experimental Rock, Math Rock, Post-rock, Progressive Rock

Battles is an American experimental rock group, founded in 2002 in New York City. The band's current line-up comprises guitarists Ian Williams (formerly of Don Caballero and Storm & Stress), Dave Konopka (formerly of Lynx) and drummer John Stanier (formerly of Helmet).

Following a string of EPs, the band released their debut album on the Warp Records label in February 2006, which was titled “EP C / B EP.” It is a compilation of their early releases, “EP C,” “B EP” and the single “Tras.”

Their first full-length album, “Mirrored,” recorded by Keith Souza at Machines with Magnets, was released in May 2007. It reached #26 on the Billboard Top Independent Albums chart. The first single from the album, “Atlas,” was released in February 2007 as streaming audio.

Battles' second album, “Gloss Drop,” was released in June 2011 featuring guests including Gary Numan, Kazu Makino and Yamantaka Eye. The album reached #19 on the Billboard Top Independent Albums chart, #31 on the Alternative Albums chart and #98 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart.