Related Artists

The Tallest Man On Earth

Mark Knopfler


Ray Lamontagne

Bon Iver

Iron & Wine

Little Feat

Gov't Mule

Talking Heads

Ryan Adams

The Avett Brothers Biography

Home > Music > A > Avett Brothers, The > Biography

Birth Place: Concord, North Carolina
Years Active: 2000–present
Genres: Indie Rock, Folk, Folk Punk, Roots Rock

The Avett Brothers is a folk rock band from Concord, North Carolina. The band is made up of two brothers, Scott Avett and Seth Avett, who play the banjo and guitar respectively, and stand-up bassist Bob Crawford. They are often joined on tour by cellist Joe Kwon. Following on from Seth and Scott's former rock band Nemo, the Avett Brothers combine bluegrass, country, punk, pop melodies, folk, rock and roll, honky tonk, and ragtime.

In 2000 the brothers began writing original songs and with the help of John Twomey (Nemo guitarist), put together a self-titled EP, “The Avett Bros.”

Soon after, the band “Nemo” broke up and Scott and Seth continued with less traditional acoustic music they had been working on.

In early 2002, The Avett Brothers, and new stand-up bass player Bob Crawford, formerly of the band The Memphis Quick 50, recorded their first full album as a band “Country Was.” After recording a live record of originals and a few covers titled “Live at the Double Door Inn,” the brothers settled down to compile a new full length album.

After more than 70 hours in the studio, the band put the final touches on their 2003 release “A Carolina Jubilee.”

In 2004, The Avett Brothers released their next album, titled “Mignonette.” It was named after an English yacht which sank off the Cape of Good Hope, leaving the crew of four stranded on a lifeboat. The cabin boy was killed and eaten by the others, two of whom were later put on trial and convicted of murder. The band released another live recording in 2005, “Live, Vol. 2.”

They released “Four Thieves Gone: The Robbinsville Sessions” in early 2006 to much acclaim. The album was recorded on location, in a rented house in Robbinsville, North Carolina.

Their next album, “The Gleam,” was released in September 2006. The album features just Seth and Scott Avett with a more toned down sound compared to “Four Thieves Gone: The Robbinsville Sessions.”

The band released “Emotionalism” in May 2007. It debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top Heatseekers Albums chart, #134 on the Billboard Top 200 Albums chart and #13 on the Independent Albums chart.

In 2008, producer Rick Rubin signed the brothers to his American Recordings label which 2009’s “I and Love and You” was released under. The album “I and Love and You” peaked at #16 on the Billboard 200, #8 on the Digital Albums, #7 on the Rock Albums, and #1 on the Folk Albums charts.

In 2010 the band released their third live album, “Live, Vol. 3” featuring a performance recorded August 8, 2009 at the Bojangles Coliseum in Charlotte, North Carolina.