Related Artists






Suicidal Tendencies


King Diamond



Anthrax Biography

Home > Music > A > Anthrax > Biography

Birth Place: New York City, New York, United States
Years Active: 1981–present
Genres: Heavy Metal, Speed Metal, Thrash Metal

Anthrax is an American heavy metal band from New York City, formed in 1981. Founded by guitarists Scott Ian and Danny Lilker, the band was one of the most popular of the 1980s thrash metal scene. When thrash metal began to gain a major following in the mid-to-late 1980s, Anthrax were dubbed one of the “big four” of thrash metal alongside Metallica, Megadeth, and Slayer.

In 1983 Anthrax signed to Megaforce Records. The band released their debut album, “Fistful of Metal” in 1984, and the following year they released “Spreading the Disease.” After the album came out, Anthrax signed with Island Records.

In March 1987, the band released its third studio album, “Among the Living,” which was Anthrax's first gold certified album by the RIAA. “Among the Living” developed the band's humorous and more experimental side and began a lyrical trend that focused on movies, comic books and Stephen King novels. It peaked at #62 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart. “I Am the Law” was issued as a single, backed with “I'm the Man,” a song that combined rap with metal.

Anthrax stuck to its thrash metal formula on the 1988 album “State of Euphoria” which peaked at #31 on the Billboard 200. Anthrax would later release the more serious “Persistence of Time” in 1990, which peaked at #24 on the Billboard 200. The album was considerably darker, more technical and progressive than Anthrax's previous work. The biggest single off the album was a cover of Joe Jackson's “Got the Time.” “In My World” and “Belly of the Beast” were also successful singles.

In 1991 they collaborated with pioneering rap artists Public Enemy on a joint version of “Bring the Noise.” This was a hit, and the band played a successful joint tour with Public Enemy. The EP “Attack of the Killer B's” was recorded during 1991, featuring a new version of “I'm the Man” and a cover of "Bring the Noise" on which Scott Ian did the vocals.

The band left Island Records and signed with Elektra Records to release, “Sound of White Noise” in 1993 featuring the single, “Only.” It peaked at #7 on the Billboard 200, marking their highest position to date on the chart.

In 1995, the band released “Stomp 442,” which was produced by Butcher Brothers and the band and included the singles, “Fueled” and "”Nothing.”. The album debuted at #47 on the Billboard 200. Anthrax claimed that their label, Elektra Records, didn't do enough to promote the album, and they left soon after.

Featuring the singles, “Inside Ou,” “Crush,” “P & V” and “Born Again Idiot,” their 1998 album “Volume 8: The Threat is Real” debuted at #118 on the Billboard 200. The album was their first for the independent label Ignition Records. Unfortunately, almost immediately after the album's release, the label went bankrupt and disappeared, making the album difficult to find. Regrouping, the band signed Beyond Records and released the greatest-hits album “Return of the Killer A's,” although Beyond soon went out of business as well.

“We've Come for You All,” the band’s first album on Sanctuary Records was released in 2003 reaching #122 on the Billboard 200. It included the singles “What Doesn't Die,” “Safe Home,” and “Takin' the Music Back.” It is considered a comeback album for the band after lackluster commercial success of their previous two records. “Strap It On” and “Cadillac Rock Box” both featured guitar solos by the late "Dimebag" Darrell Abbott.

In June 2011 Anthrax released the first song off their upcoming new album called, “Fight'em 'Til You Can't.”