Related Artists

Four Year Strong

Say Anything


New Found Glory

From Autumn To Ashes

Alkaline Trio

Senses Fail

Motion City Soundtrack

The Postal Service

All Time Low

Angels and Airwaves Biography

Home > Music > A > Angels and Airwaves > Biography

Birth Place: San Diego, California, USA
Years Active: 2005-present
Genres: Alternative Rock, Neo-progressive Rock

Angels & Airwaves is an American rock supergroup led by Blink-182 guitarist/vocalist Tom DeLonge. The band also includes guitarist David Kennedy, notably from Over My Dead Body, Hazen Street and Box Car Racer, drummer Atom Willard from The Offspring and Rocket from the Crypt, and bassist Matt Wachter from 30 Seconds to Mars, who replaced Ryan Sinn in 2007.

Soon after forming the band began recording their debut album in DeLonge's home studio in California. They released their first album, “We Don't Need to Whisper,” in May 2006. The album reached #4 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart, and was certified gold. Prior to the album’s debut, the first single "The Adventure" was released and peaked at #5 on Billboard’s Modern Rock Tracks chart as well as #55 on the Hot 100.

Their second album, titled “I-Empire,” was a departure from the heavy effects found on “We Don't Need To Whisper,” and was released on Universal/Island Records in November 2007. “I-Empire” debuted at #9 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart. "Everything's Magic," "Breathe" and "Secret Crowds" were the album’s singles.

“Love,” their third studio album, was officially released worldwide in February 2010. Released free of charge, the album has been downloaded over 800,000 times since its release. The album coincides with a science fiction film of the same name, “Love,” which was produced and scored by the band. Delonge has confirmed that a second studio album in the “Love” project will be released along with the film.