Related Artists

American Princes Biography

Home > Music > A > American Princes > Biography

Birth Place: Little Rock, AR
Years Active: 2003-Present
Genres: Indie Rock, Rock And Roll

American Princes is an indie rock band from Little Rock, AR. The band started in 2003 when David Slade, then-bassist John Beachboard and drummer Matthew Quin moved to Little Rock from New York City. Within their first year in Arkansas, they met guitarist Collins Kilgore and released their first album, ''We Are the People,'' on Max Recordings. In 2004, after their first national tour, American Princes released their second album, ''Little Spaces,'' also on Max Recordings. Luke Hunsicker (Sugar and the Raw) joined the 2004 tour in support of ''Little Spaces''.

In 2005, the band signed with Yep Roc Records and went into Richmond’s Sound of Music studio with producer Alan Weatherhead to record their most recent album ''Less and Less''.

Since the release of ''Less and Less'' some of the bands American Princes have shared the stage with include The Flaming Lips, The Roots, Big Star, The Hold Steady, Spoon, De La Soul, Lucero, Catfish Haven, John Doe, The Apples in Stereo, and others.

In January 2007 Magnet Magazine released their Best Albums of 2006 list on which ''Less and Less'' appeared as number 17.

In 2006 guitarist Will Boyd joined the band, and in the Summer of 2007 the band began work on their fourth album with producer Chuck Brody (Wu Tang Clan, Northern State) in New York.

American Princes' 2008 release ''Other People'' was voted #1 on Magnet Magazine's Best Albums of 2008 list.